Liam Moriarty http://klcc.org en Supreme Court Decision Could Impact NW Clean Fuel Rules http://klcc.org/post/supreme-court-decision-could-impact-nw-clean-fuel-rules <p>Last week, the U-S Supreme Court declined to hear a challenge to California’s clean fuel law. Supporters of the law – and of similar efforts in Oregon and Washington – say the high court’s decision clears the way for the West Coast to take the lead in reducing planet-warming greenhouse gas emissions. But opponents in the petroleum industry say the law is still a bad idea.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:13:01 +0000 Liam Moriarty 17045 at http://klcc.org Supreme Court Decision Could Impact NW Clean Fuel Rules Rogue Hack Lab: Incubator For Innovation And Learning http://klcc.org/post/rogue-hack-lab-incubator-innovation-and-learning <p>Maker spaces and hacker spaces are a growing phenomenon. They’re places where everyday people gain access to the tools – and the collaborative inspiration – to combine art, engineering and technology in new and innovative ways. Sometimes these projects become incubators for products and inventions with enormous potential. In Medford, the Rogue Hack Lab is a local expression of this global movement.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:57:50 +0000 Liam Moriarty 15803 at http://klcc.org Rogue Hack Lab: Incubator For Innovation And Learning The Wolf At The Door: California Wrestles With A Predator’s Return http://klcc.org/post/wolf-door-california-wrestles-predator-s-return <p>It’s been ninety years since the last native California wolf was trapped and killed. Last week, Oregon wildlife officials announced that OR-7, the wolf they’ve tracked wandering in and out of northern California, had found a mate and fathered a new litter in southern Oregon. That news contributes to the growing sense that it’s only a matter of time till wolves re-inhabit the Golden State. Against this backdrop, California wildlife officials extended endangered species status to the gray wolf.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 14:25:19 +0000 Liam Moriarty 15515 at http://klcc.org The Wolf At The Door: California Wrestles With A Predator’s Return Arrests Highlight Threat to Ancient Redwoods http://klcc.org/post/arrests-highlight-threat-ancient-redwoods <p>Two men have been charged with damaging old growth trees in northern California’s Redwood National and State Forest. The arrests are the first in response to a recent increase in illegal poaching of redwood burl.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 13:54:03 +0000 Liam Moriarty 14421 at http://klcc.org Arrests Highlight Threat to Ancient Redwoods GMO Battle Divides Jackson County Farmers http://klcc.org/post/gmo-battle-divides-jackson-county-farmers <p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 13 May 2014 15:28:23 +0000 Liam Moriarty 13548 at http://klcc.org GMO Battle Divides Jackson County Farmers Oregon's 1872 Mining Law Could Get An Update http://klcc.org/post/oregons-1872-mining-law-could-get-update <p></p><p></p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 13:54:43 +0000 Liam Moriarty 12655 at http://klcc.org Oregon's 1872 Mining Law Could Get An Update