Rachael McDonald http://klcc.org en Ethiopian Athletes Likely to Seek Asylum in U.S. http://klcc.org/post/ethiopian-athletes-likely-seek-asylum-us <p>Police reports show at least one of the four Ethiopian athletes who went missing after the World Junior Championships in Eugene last month planned to seek asylum. We checked in with an immigration lawyer to find out their chances of success.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 19 Aug 2014 20:22:18 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19651 at http://klcc.org Ethiopian Athletes Likely to Seek Asylum in U.S. NW Fire Season Seems To Be Calming Down http://klcc.org/post/nw-fire-season-seems-be-calming-down <p>Fire season is calming down in the Northwest. Officials have dropped their preparedness level to 4. The region was at level 5 for 31 days-- an all time record.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 18 Aug 2014 18:39:34 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19579 at http://klcc.org NW Fire Season Seems To Be Calming Down Straub Family Opposes Springfield UGB Expansion http://klcc.org/post/straub-family-opposes-springfield-ugb-expansion <p>The City of Springfield's efforts to expand their Urban Growth Boundary to a rural area near Mount Pisgah have hit a snag. The largest landowners on Seavey Loop Road have changed their stance from neutral to opposed to the city's plans.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 18:50:15 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19378 at http://klcc.org Straub Family Opposes Springfield UGB Expansion Lincoln County Commissioners Oppose A National Marine Sanctuary Off Oregon's Coast http://klcc.org/post/lincoln-county-commissioners-oppose-national-marine-sanctuary-oregons-coast <p>The Lincoln County Board of Commissioners voted Wednesday to oppose the designation of a National Marine Sanctuary in Oregon coastal waters.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 13 Aug 2014 20:02:02 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19323 at http://klcc.org Lincoln County Commissioners Oppose A National Marine Sanctuary Off Oregon's Coast Popular Goat Dairy Turns To Crowd-funding http://klcc.org/post/popular-goat-dairy-turns-crowd-funding <p>A goat dairy near Dexter is suffering from its own success. What's been a labor of love for many years is becoming impossible to sustain without an infusion of cash. <a href="http://www.fernsedgegoatdairy.com/">Ferns' Edge Dairy</a> is turning to crowd-funding to stay alive.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 13 Aug 2014 14:28:52 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19304 at http://klcc.org Popular Goat Dairy Turns To Crowd-funding Festival of Eugene May Seek New Location http://klcc.org/post/festival-eugene-may-seek-new-location <p>The<a href="http://festivalofeugene.com/"> Festival of Eugene</a> is on. But organizers say it may have to take place in a different venue. The original plan was to hold it near the 5th Street Market.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 12 Aug 2014 20:08:54 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19257 at http://klcc.org Festival of Eugene May Seek New Location Lightning Sparks About A Dozen Small Fires East of Eugene http://klcc.org/post/lightning-sparks-about-dozen-small-fires-east-eugene <p>Monday night's lightning sparked several small forest fires east of Eugene. A red flag warning is in effect for most of Oregon through Tuesday with high temperatures and more thunderstorms expected.</p><p></p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 19:41:20 +0000 Rachael McDonald 19190 at http://klcc.org Lightning Sparks About A Dozen Small Fires East of Eugene South Eugene Home Destroyed By Fire http://klcc.org/post/south-eugene-home-destroyed-fire <p>UPDATE: 5:15pm</p> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 20:33:52 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Angela Kellner 18983 at http://klcc.org South Eugene Home Destroyed By Fire Students React to UO President's Sudden Departure http://klcc.org/post/students-react-uo-presidents-sudden-departure <p>University of Oregon President Michael Gottfredson has resigned after two years on the job. Gottfredson announced his decision Wednesday in a <a href="http://around.uoregon.edu/content/president-gottfredson-announces-transition-university-oregon">campus-wide email</a>. He took the helm in 2012 replacing an interim president who took over after Richard Lariviere&nbsp; was fired by the State Board of Higher Education. KLCC's Rachael McDonald went on campus Thursday to find out what students think about Gottfredson's abrupt departure.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 07 Aug 2014 20:31:40 +0000 Rachael McDonald 18982 at http://klcc.org Students React to UO President's Sudden Departure Beyond Toxics Files Civil Rights Complaint Over Seneca Biomass Permit http://klcc.org/post/beyond-toxics-files-civil-rights-complaint-over-seneca-biomass-permit <p>A Eugene based environmental watchdog group has filed a federal complaint against the Lane County Air Protection Agency, or <a href="http://www.lrapa.org/">LRAPA</a>, over its decision to allow a biomass plant to increase its emissions.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 06 Aug 2014 20:12:30 +0000 Rachael McDonald 18909 at http://klcc.org Beyond Toxics Files Civil Rights Complaint Over Seneca Biomass Permit