Rachael McDonald http://klcc.org en Free Speech Protest Rights Championed In Two Eugene Lawsuits http://klcc.org/post/free-speech-protest-rights-championed-two-eugene-lawsuits <p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 20:34:47 +0000 Rachael McDonald 12229 at http://klcc.org Free Speech Protest Rights Championed In Two Eugene Lawsuits LCC Grapples With Budget Woes http://klcc.org/post/lcc-grapples-budget-woes <p>Lane Community College may have to lay off part time and even full time employees if its enrollment continues to decline.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:37:41 +0000 Rachael McDonald 12141 at http://klcc.org LCC Grapples With Budget Woes Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/anonymous-donor-gives-400000-homeless-camp-eugene <p>An anonymous donor from Eugene has stepped forward with $400,000 to purchase property for a homeless camp in the city.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:37:40 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11921 at http://klcc.org Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene Eugene May Implement Test of Traffic Change http://klcc.org/post/eugene-may-implement-test-traffic-change <p>The city of Eugene is trying to improve the safety of a portion of <a href="https://www.eugene-or.gov/SWillametteStreet">Willamette Street</a>. Three alternatives are being considered for the stretch between 24th and 29th avenues. The first would be to keep the busy street in its current configuration with 4 vehicle traffic lanes and no bike lanes. Another would turn the roadway into three lanes with bike lanes on each side. The center lane would be a turn lane. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:26:41 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11905 at http://klcc.org Rest Stops Provide Community http://klcc.org/post/rest-stops-provide-community <blockquote><p>There've been huge changes in the homeless community in the last 2 years and this rest stop I think is among the most positive things that have ever happened for homeless people on the west coast</p></blockquote><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:31:58 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11903 at http://klcc.org Rest Stops Provide Community Lane County To Consider Resisting National Defense Authorization Act http://klcc.org/post/lane-county-consider-resisting-national-defense-authorization-act <p>This week, the Board of <a href="http://www.lanecounty.org/Pages/Default.aspx">Lane County Commissioners</a> could vote to refuse to cooperate with a federal law. The board Tuesday will hold a public hearing and discussion of concerns about renewing the National Defense Authorization Act.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 18:48:09 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11721 at http://klcc.org Lane County To Consider Resisting National Defense Authorization Act Eugene Withdraws Rest-Stop Near Science Factory http://klcc.org/post/eugene-withdraws-rest-stop-near-science-factory <p>The Eugene City Council voted today [Wednesday] to withdraw a proposed rest-stop location for homeless people near the Science Factory and Cuthbert Amphitheater. Last Friday, Eugene police shut down an illegal homeless camp near downtown called Whoville. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:38:57 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11442 at http://klcc.org Eugene Withdraws Rest-Stop Near Science Factory Eugene Considers City-Wide Sick Leave Ordinance http://klcc.org/post/eugene-considers-city-wide-sick-leave-ordinance <p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:35:32 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11441 at http://klcc.org Eugene Considers City-Wide Sick Leave Ordinance More Cities Decide On Medical Pot Bans http://klcc.org/post/more-cities-decide-medical-pot-bans <p>Newport has joined the list of Oregon cities placing a moratorium on medical marijuana dispensaries. Springfield has decided against a ban and Creswell may enact a moratorium.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 18:46:56 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11349 at http://klcc.org More Cities Decide On Medical Pot Bans Eugene Shuts Down Whoville http://klcc.org/post/eugene-shuts-down-whoville <p></p><p>Eugene Police surrounded an illegal homeless camp known as Whoville Friday morning and told the 30 or so residents to pack up and go. The City Council gave an April 15th deadline for the site to close.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:06:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Karen Richards 11146 at http://klcc.org Eugene Shuts Down Whoville