Ari Shapiro http://klcc.org en Tank Movement Increases Tensions In Eastern Ukraine http://klcc.org/post/latest-eastern-ukraine Several Ukrainian tanks are on the move in some eastern cities, according to reports Wednesday morning. Some of the armored personnel carriers are flying Russian flags. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 10:14:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11829 at http://klcc.org Ukraine's Army Launches Campaign Against Eastern Militants http://klcc.org/post/ukraines-army-launches-campaign-against-eastern-militants Ukraine's army began a "special operation" in the east of the country Tuesday, moving against pro-Russian militants who are occupying government offices across the region. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11798 at http://klcc.org Ukrainian Jews Celebrate Passover In Uncertain Times http://klcc.org/post/ukrainian-jews-celebrate-passover-uncertain-times At Passover celebrations around the world tonight, the youngest child will sing a song in Hebrew. "Why," the youngster will ask, "is this night different from all other nights?"<p>Adults in Ukraine can ask a similar question this year: What makes this Passover different from all others? It's a question Rabbi Alexander Duchovny has been thinking about a lot. "Passover is <em>z'man cheruteinu,</em> time of our liberty — time of freedom," he says. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 22:03:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11740 at http://klcc.org Ukrainian Jews Celebrate Passover In Uncertain Times Defiant Of Deadline, Pro-Moscow Occupiers Persist http://klcc.org/post/defiant-deadline-pro-moscow-occupiers-persist Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish. In eastern Ukraine, people are bracing for possible war. The government gave a deadline of this morning for pro-Russian separatists to lay down their weapons. Instead, the demonstrators took over still more government buildings in eastern Ukrainian cities. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11728 at http://klcc.org Between Friends, Family And Country, Ukrainian Police Lie Low http://klcc.org/post/between-friends-family-and-country-ukranian-police-lie-low <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onRu5am9Rx0</p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11635 at http://klcc.org Between Friends, Family And Country, Ukrainian Police Lie Low The Ukrainian Prime Minister's Visit, As Seen From Behind Barricades http://klcc.org/post/ukrainian-prime-ministers-visit-seen-behind-barricades Ukraine's interim prime minister visited Donetsk Friday in an effort to reduce tensions in the east of the country. Pro-Moscow militants among the area's largely Russian-speaking population have seized two government buildings in the region and are demanding referendums on the area's future. NPR's Ari Shapiro has been behind the barricades at one of the occupations. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11591 at http://klcc.org Molotov Cocktails And Razor Wire: Inside An Occupied Building In Ukraine http://klcc.org/post/molotov-cocktails-and-razor-wire-inside-occupied-building-ukraine <em>In Ukraine's eastern city of Donetsk, activists who want to align the country more with Russia seized a regional administration building in the center of town last weekend. NPR correspondent Ari Shapiro went inside the building Friday and reports on what it was like:</em><p>Overnight, reports said pro-Russian protesters here in Donetsk had reinforced the barricade surrounding the 11-story government building that the demonstrators have occupied since Sunday. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 11:18:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11547 at http://klcc.org Molotov Cocktails And Razor Wire: Inside An Occupied Building In Ukraine God Save The Queen — And Donetsk, Too? http://klcc.org/post/god-save-queen-and-donetsk-too The eastern Ukrainian city of Donetsk has been the center of a standoff since Sunday, with demonstrators pleading for the city to join Russia, while government leaders insist it will remain part of Ukraine.<p>In the midst of this tug-of-war, there's a third country that may have a claim on the city — though admittedly, a much looser one.<p>"God Save The Queen" isn't just the British national anthem, it's also the name of a campaign to bring Donetsk under the sheltering wing of Her Majesty's United Kingdom.<p>(You read that correctly: the UK. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11507 at http://klcc.org God Save The Queen — And Donetsk, Too? In Ukraine's Rust Belt, A Mix Of Nostalgia And Nationalism http://klcc.org/post/ukraines-rust-belt-mix-nostalgia-and-nationalism To say that the town of Perewalsk in eastern Ukraine has fallen on hard times would be an enormous understatement. The small industrial town near the Russian border is a collection of concrete buildings with no windows, falling-down houses and empty, abandoned factories; there's a chemical smell in the air.<p>In the middle of this dystopian landscape, there's an even more unexpected sight: an 80-year-old woman in a bright purple coat and headscarf, happily digging with a shovel in the dirt.<p>She introduces herself as Lida Vasilivna.<p>"This is basically my garden. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 07:37:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11464 at http://klcc.org In Ukraine's Rust Belt, A Mix Of Nostalgia And Nationalism Ukrainian Protesters Seize Weapons, Raising The Stakes http://klcc.org/post/ukrainian-protesters-seize-weapons-raising-stakes The drive to Luhansk takes you past fields of corn and sunflowers that are just beginning to sprout. You pass the town of Yennakieva, where the ousted Ukrainian president, Viktor Yanukovych, was born. Eventually the fields give way to factories, and about 15 miles from the border with Russia, you hit the industrial city of Luhansk.<p>Police have blocked off the center of town. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 11432 at http://klcc.org Ukrainian Protesters Seize Weapons, Raising The Stakes