economy http://klcc.org en Job Fair For Veterans And Military Spouses In Roseburg Wednesday http://klcc.org/post/job-fair-veterans-and-military-spouses-roseburg-wednesday <p></p><p>The <a href="http://www.uschamberfoundation.org/">U.S. Chamber of Commerce Foundation</a> is hosting a “<a href="http://www.hiringourheroes.org/">Hiring Our Heroes</a>” event for veterans and their spouses in Roseburg Wednesday.</p><p>The job fairs for vets were launched three years ago. As a result, more than 1,500 companies have hired about 23,000 veterans and military spouses, according to the Chamber of Commerce. Spokesman Phillip Maas, who retired from the Army after a 25-year career, says Wednesday’s event in Roseburg will have a variety of employers.</p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 18:27:53 +0000 Angela Kellner 14898 at http://klcc.org Job Fair For Veterans And Military Spouses In Roseburg Wednesday What RAIN Can Bring To The Southern Willamette Valley http://klcc.org/post/what-rain-can-bring-southern-willamette-valley <p>Meeting Date: May 30th, 2014<br />Air Date: June 2, 2014</p><p>Last summer, the Oregon legislature approved $3.5 million seed funding for the South Willamette Valley Regional Accelerator and Innovation Network (RAIN). RAIN’s goal is economic development for our area, which is slowly making the transition from a dependence on natural resources to a knowledge-based economy.</p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 15:45:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 14739 at http://klcc.org Update On Lane Metro http://klcc.org/post/update-lane-metro <p>Recorded on: May 16th, 2014<br />Air Date: May 19th, 2014</p><p>City Club members and guests will hear about the future of economic development in Lane County with one of the most experienced experts on the subject on May 16. State Representative John Lively will discuss the history and the future of the Lane Metro Partnership. He will relate some success stories and provide an update on the group’s status.</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 15:43:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 13841 at http://klcc.org LCC Opens New Dental Clinic To Serve Patients And Train Students http://klcc.org/post/lcc-opens-new-dental-clinic-serve-patients-and-train-students <p>Since the great recession, job security has been elusive. One bright spot is the health care field. Lane Community College in Eugene offers training programs to help students land well-paying jobs in the health care industry, including dental care. Lane recently opened a <a href="http://www.lanecc.edu/hp/dental/dental-clinic">new dental clinic</a> on Willamette Street where students can learn by treating patients.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 08:16:11 +0000 Angela Kellner 11760 at http://klcc.org LCC Opens New Dental Clinic To Serve Patients And Train Students Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce http://klcc.org/post/extended-season-some-northwest-ski-areas-profits-scarce <p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 12:31:41 +0000 Tom Banse 11554 at http://klcc.org Extended Season For Some Northwest Ski Areas, But Profits Scarce Fair Trade Retailer Greater Goods Closing After 23 Years In Eugene http://klcc.org/post/fair-trade-retailer-greater-goods-closing-after-23-years-eugene <p>One of downtown Eugene’s unique retailers is going out of business after 23 years of selling mostly fair trade products. KLCC’s Angela Kellner stopped by <a href="http://www.greatergoodsonline.com/">Greater Goods</a> to find out how the business got started…and why it’s shutting down.</p><p>Across from the trendy <a href="http://5stmarket.com/">5th Street Public Market</a> is a thrift store and Greater Goods.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 02:12:01 +0000 Angela Kellner 10222 at http://klcc.org Fair Trade Retailer Greater Goods Closing After 23 Years In Eugene Oregon Logging Conference Draws Thousands http://klcc.org/post/oregon-logging-conference-draws-thousands <p>The buzz of chainsaws and smell of freshly cut wood in Eugene isn’t only because of recent storms. Thousands of loggers have come to the Lane Events Center for the 76<sup>th</sup> annual Oregon Logging Conference.</p><p>The event is the largest equipment show west of the Mississippi. Organizers are excited to have about 900 registered participants from all over the U.S. as well as several foreign countries. The group’s president, Milt Moran, says an improved economy and a good program helped boost attendance:</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:31:50 +0000 Karen Richards 8619 at http://klcc.org Oregon Logging Conference Draws Thousands Snowstorms And Freezing Rain Affect Local Economy http://klcc.org/post/snowstorms-and-freezing-rain-affect-local-economy <p>It will take time to determine the long-term economic impacts of the extreme weather that hit the region this past week. But there are some immediate effects we can observe.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:16:28 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8108 at http://klcc.org Snowstorms And Freezing Rain Affect Local Economy Two Local Manufacturing Plants Announce Closures http://klcc.org/post/two-local-manufacturing-plants-announce-closures <p>Two local manufacturing plants have announced they're closing. Allied Specialty Vehicles Inc. closed its plant at the former Monaco site in Harrisburg Monday. The plant employed 120 people.<br /><br />Springfield based Sierra-Pine told the Register Guard it will close its particle board plant in April. That company has 87 employees. Eugene Area Chamber of Commerce President Dave Hauser says the closures are a blow to the local economy.<br /> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:03:48 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8107 at http://klcc.org Proposed Fertilizer Mixing Plant Triggers Opposition From Linn County Neighbors http://klcc.org/post/proposed-fertilizer-mixing-plant-triggers-opposition-linn-county-neighbors <p>A group of land owners in Linn County are mobilizing to fight a proposed fertilizer mixing plant near their homes and farms. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 21:52:29 +0000 Jes Burns 8052 at http://klcc.org