whoville http://klcc.org en Rest Stops Provide Community http://klcc.org/post/rest-stops-provide-community <p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:31:58 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11903 at http://klcc.org Rest Stops Provide Community Eugene Withdraws Rest-Stop Near Science Factory http://klcc.org/post/eugene-withdraws-rest-stop-near-science-factory <p>The Eugene City Council voted today [Wednesday] to withdraw a proposed rest-stop location for homeless people near the Science Factory and Cuthbert Amphitheater. Last Friday, Eugene police shut down an illegal homeless camp near downtown called Whoville. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:38:57 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11442 at http://klcc.org Eugene Withdraws Rest-Stop Near Science Factory Eugene Shuts Down Whoville http://klcc.org/post/eugene-shuts-down-whoville <p></p><p>Eugene Police surrounded an illegal homeless camp known as Whoville Friday morning and told the 30 or so residents to pack up and go. The City Council gave an April 15th deadline for the site to close.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:06:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Karen Richards 11146 at http://klcc.org Eugene Shuts Down Whoville Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time http://klcc.org/post/whoville-residents-and-advocates-ask-city-more-time <p>Advocates for the Eugene homeless encampment known as Whoville are pushing for an extension of a deadline to close down the camp.&nbsp; They expect the City will begin the process of evicting residents Tuesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:15:15 +0000 Jes Burns 10883 at http://klcc.org Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium http://klcc.org/post/new-homeless-rest-stop-approved-near-autzen-stadium <p>The Eugene City Council voted to open another homeless rest stop at a work session Monday evening.&nbsp; The move comes after residents of the illegal homeless camp known as Whoville objected to a previously-approved site near the Whiteaker.<br /> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 03:04:35 +0000 Jes Burns 9563 at http://klcc.org New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work http://klcc.org/post/whoville-folks-say-proposed-site-not-going-work <p></p><p></p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:14:55 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9274 at http://klcc.org Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close http://klcc.org/post/whoville-homeless-camp-must-close <p>In a work session today (Wednesday) the Eugene City Council voted to shut down the homeless camp known as Whoville. The motion includes opening an alternate location in West Eugene.</p><p>Eugene City Manager John Ruiz moved that Whoville, currently located at Broadway and Hilyard, be closed by no later than April 1<sup>st</sup>. Ruiz also recommended authorizing a second "rest stop" at the Northwest Expressway location.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 01:24:16 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 8928 at http://klcc.org Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close Whoville Won't Have To Move After 30-day Reprieve Is Over http://klcc.org/post/whoville-wont-have-move-after-30-day-reprieve-over <p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8620 at http://klcc.org Whoville Won't Have To Move After 30-day Reprieve Is Over Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House http://klcc.org/post/whoville-coalition-hold-open-house <p>The Whoville coalition will hold an open house Saturday. Its intention is to bring awareness to the urgency of finding a new site for residents. Nathan Showers, known as "Red", is one of Whoville's counselors and managers. He says he hopes the open house will give an inside look into how the establishment operates.</p><p>Red: "It's just to let everybody come together and see Whoville people and how we interact together in a group and our living situation. So, you can see how well we do get along and coincide together."</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:26:03 +0000 Amanda Butt 8618 at http://klcc.org Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House 30-Day Deadline For Whoville http://klcc.org/post/30-day-deadline-whoville <p>Whoville residents have a month before the City of Eugene will shut it down. Meanwhile the City Manager is tasked with finding somewhere else for the 30 to 40 homeless people to go. The City Council voted 6 to 2 Wednesday to set the deadline.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 21:56:35 +0000 Rachael McDonald 7280 at http://klcc.org 30-Day Deadline For Whoville