Social Justice http://klcc.org en Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing http://klcc.org/post/gay-rights-supporters-gather-ahead-landmark-court-hearing <p>Late Tuesday afternoon, gay rights supporters in seven cities around Oregon gathered for a vigil ahead of a landmark court case.&nbsp; A federal judge in Eugene will hear oral arguments Wednesday afternoon challenging the state's ban on same-sex marriage.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:40:06 +0000 Jes Burns 12296 at http://klcc.org Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing http://klcc.org/post/judge-denies-motion-delay-same-sex-marriage-hearing <p>Wednesday's federal hearing on Oregon's same-sex marriage ban will go ahead as scheduled, after a Eugene judge today denied a motion to postpone by opponents. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p><br />The Oregon Attorney General announced back in February that the state would not defend the voter-approved Constitutional ban on same-sex marriage.&nbsp; The state said the ban would not stand up to a federal equal rights challenge.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:55:50 +0000 Jes Burns 12237 at http://klcc.org Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/anonymous-donor-gives-400000-homeless-camp-eugene <p>An anonymous donor from Eugene has stepped forward with $400,000 to purchase property for a homeless camp in the city.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:37:40 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11921 at http://klcc.org Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene Rest Stops Provide Community http://klcc.org/post/rest-stops-provide-community <blockquote><p>There've been huge changes in the homeless community in the last 2 years and this rest stop I think is among the most positive things that have ever happened for homeless people on the west coast</p></blockquote><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:31:58 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11903 at http://klcc.org Rest Stops Provide Community Report: Racial Minorities Biggest Targets Of Bias-Based Crimes In Eugene http://klcc.org/post/report-racial-minorities-biggest-targets-bias-based-crimes-eugene <p></p><p>This month, the City of Eugene’s Human Rights Office, in conjunction with the Eugene Police Department, released a report documenting bias-based incidents and criminal activity in our Community.&nbsp; It found there were 55 incidents reported in 2013 – ranging from acts of physical violence to vandalism targeting people based on race, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, and religion.</p><p>KLCC’s Jes Burns speaks with Michael Kinnison, manager of the Eugene Equity and Human Rights Office.</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 07:41:00 +0000 Jes Burns 11601 at http://klcc.org Report: Racial Minorities Biggest Targets Of Bias-Based Crimes In Eugene Eugene Shuts Down Whoville http://klcc.org/post/eugene-shuts-down-whoville <p></p><p>Eugene Police surrounded an illegal homeless camp known as Whoville Friday morning and told the 30 or so residents to pack up and go. The City Council gave an April 15th deadline for the site to close.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:06:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Karen Richards 11146 at http://klcc.org Eugene Shuts Down Whoville Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time http://klcc.org/post/whoville-residents-and-advocates-ask-city-more-time <p>Advocates for the Eugene homeless encampment known as Whoville are pushing for an extension of a deadline to close down the camp.&nbsp; They expect the City will begin the process of evicting residents Tuesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:15:15 +0000 Jes Burns 10883 at http://klcc.org Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work http://klcc.org/post/whoville-folks-say-proposed-site-not-going-work <p></p><p></p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:14:55 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9274 at http://klcc.org Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work Advocates Lock Arms to Block NW Deportations http://klcc.org/post/advocates-lock-arms-block-nw-deportations <p></p><p></p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 14:31:48 +0000 Liz Jones 8805 at http://klcc.org Advocates Lock Arms to Block NW Deportations Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House http://klcc.org/post/whoville-coalition-hold-open-house <p>The Whoville coalition will hold an open house Saturday. Its intention is to bring awareness to the urgency of finding a new site for residents. Nathan Showers, known as "Red", is one of Whoville's counselors and managers. He says he hopes the open house will give an inside look into how the establishment operates.</p><p>Red: "It's just to let everybody come together and see Whoville people and how we interact together in a group and our living situation. So, you can see how well we do get along and coincide together."</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:26:03 +0000 Amanda Butt 8618 at http://klcc.org Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House