Social Justice http://klcc.org en Eugenians Reflect on "Freedom Summer" Fifty Years Later http://klcc.org/post/eugenians-reflect-freedom-summer-fifty-years-later-0 <p></p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 15342 at http://klcc.org Eugenians Reflect on "Freedom Summer" Fifty Years Later The Annual Turtle Awards and Some Oregon History http://klcc.org/post/annual-turtle-awards-and-some-oregon-history <p> City Club for June 13, 2014.&nbsp; Aired on KLCC: June 16, 2014</p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Jes Burns 15628 at http://klcc.org Group Plans Permanent "Village" For Homeless People http://klcc.org/post/group-plans-permanent-village-homeless-people <p>The folks who created <a href="http://www.opportunityvillageeugene.org/">Opportunity Village Eugene</a>, a pilot project that gives short-term shelter to people without homes, are now looking to branch out.&nbsp; "Emerald Village" would provide long term housing at an affordable price.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 18:12:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald 14679 at http://klcc.org Group Plans Permanent "Village" For Homeless People Homeless Man Pens Screenplay About Living In A Shelter http://klcc.org/post/homeless-man-pens-screenplay-about-living-shelter <p></p><p>55-year-old John Baker has been homeless on and off for the past 5 years. While at a homeless shelter in Aspen, Colorado, he wrote a sitcom screenplay called "The Homeless Bums of Aspen." He spoke with KLCC's Angela Kellner about submitting the screenplay to NBC during their open call for sitcoms.</p><p></p><p>John Baker's <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQI41LIa8ZA">song, "The Homeless Bums of Aspen" is on You Tube</a>.</p> Fri, 23 May 2014 02:56:00 +0000 Angela Kellner 14197 at http://klcc.org Homeless Man Pens Screenplay About Living In A Shelter Federal Judge In Oregon Rules In Favor Of Gay Marriage http://klcc.org/post/federal-judge-oregon-rules-favor-gay-marriage-0 <p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 19:24:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 13939 at http://klcc.org Federal Judge In Oregon Rules In Favor Of Gay Marriage Protesters Demand Living Wage for Fast Food Workers http://klcc.org/post/protesters-demand-living-wage-fast-food-workers <p>The Global Strike for Fast Food Workers is happening across the country and around the world today (Thursday). The protest is a call for higher pay and worker rights for the estimated four million employees in the fast food industry. One of the events is in Eugene.</p><p>It’s lunchtime business as usual at the McDonald’s on Broadway in Eugene….</p><p>But outside on the sidewalk, a handful of activists are protesting&nbsp; the corporate fast food giant. They want to see a “living wage” for its employees.</p><p>Lauren Regan is director of the Civil Liberties Defense Center.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 23:20:19 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 13741 at http://klcc.org Protesters Demand Living Wage for Fast Food Workers Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower http://klcc.org/post/tally-shows-total-number-homeless-lane-county-lower <p>In 2013, about 10,000 people in Lane County experienced homelessness.&nbsp; Although high, Lane County Human Services says this is an improvement from the previous year. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 01:55:15 +0000 Jes Burns 13160 at http://klcc.org Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower Officials Launch System Improvements to Help At-risk Youth http://klcc.org/post/officials-launch-system-improvements-help-risk-youth <p>Lane County is one of thirteen jurisdictions across the nation chosen to implement a new juvenile justice program model. It’s designed to reduce the number of youth who “crossover” between child welfare and the juvenile justice system.</p><p></p><p></p><p>“At any time we have between 400 and 500 youth somewhere in our system.”</p><p>That’s John Aarons. He’s been working with Lane County Youth Services for nearly 30 years. In his view, the newly launched Crossover Youth Practice Model will help formalize an important partnership.</p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 21:27:03 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 12487 at http://klcc.org Officials Launch System Improvements to Help At-risk Youth Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing http://klcc.org/post/gay-rights-supporters-gather-ahead-landmark-court-hearing <p>Late Tuesday afternoon, gay rights supporters in seven cities around Oregon gathered for a vigil ahead of a landmark court case.&nbsp; A federal judge in Eugene will hear oral arguments Wednesday afternoon challenging the state's ban on same-sex marriage.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:40:06 +0000 Jes Burns 12296 at http://klcc.org Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing http://klcc.org/post/judge-denies-motion-delay-same-sex-marriage-hearing <p>Wednesday's federal hearing on Oregon's same-sex marriage ban will go ahead as scheduled, after a Eugene judge today denied a motion to postpone by opponents. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p><br />The Oregon Attorney General announced back in February that the state would not defend the voter-approved Constitutional ban on same-sex marriage.&nbsp; The state said the ban would not stand up to a federal equal rights challenge.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:55:50 +0000 Jes Burns 12237 at http://klcc.org Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing