Forest Management http://klcc.org en ODF Hosts Discussion Sessions On New Forest Management Plan http://klcc.org/post/odf-hosts-discussion-sessions-new-forest-management-plan <p>The Oregon Department of Forestry (ODF) is drafting a new plan to better manage timber harvest, recreation, and wildlife habitat.<br /> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 03:32:39 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 8877 at http://klcc.org ODF Hosts Discussion Sessions On New Forest Management Plan Tree Sitters Don’t Buy Logging Designed To Mimic Nature http://klcc.org/post/tree-sitters-don-t-buy-logging-designed-mimic-nature <p></p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 14:53:35 +0000 Amelia Templeton 6205 at http://klcc.org Tree Sitters Don’t Buy Logging Designed To Mimic Nature Wyden Introduces Eastside Forest Bill http://klcc.org/post/wyden-introduces-eastside-forest-bill <p>Senator Ron Wyden's long-awaited bill to promote logging on national forests in Eastern Oregon has cleared its first legislative hurdle.</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 15:57:11 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Associated Press 5060 at http://klcc.org Wyden Introduces Eastside Forest Bill Elliott State Forest Land Will Be Auctioned Off http://klcc.org/post/elliott-state-forest-land-will-be-auctioned <p>Tuesday the Oregon State Land Board gave the green light to sell five scattered tracts in the Elliott State Forest east of Coos Bay.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The 27-hundred acres have been managed by the state for almost a century. Earnings from timber sales go to the state's Common School Fund. Due to restricted harvests, the School Fund lost money in 2013, reducing payments to all Oregon school districts. Jim Paul is with the state land board. He says this sale may set a precedent for future state land sales.</p><p></p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 00:22:31 +0000 Karen Richards 4525 at http://klcc.org Elliott State Forest Land Will Be Auctioned Off State Considers Selling Parcels of Elliott State Forest http://klcc.org/post/state-considers-selling-parcels-elliott-state-forest <p>The state of Oregon may decide to sell up to 3-thousand acres of the Elliott State Forest. The <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/dsl/slb/Pages/index.aspx">Land Board</a> meets Tuesday in Salem.</p> Mon, 09 Dec 2013 17:58:36 +0000 Rachael McDonald 4414 at http://klcc.org State Considers Selling Parcels of Elliott State Forest Wyden Timber Plan Faces Criticism http://klcc.org/post/wyden-timber-plan-faces-criticism <p>US Senator <a href="http://www.wyden.senate.gov/">Ron </a><a href="http://www.wyden.senate.gov/">Wyden</a>'s bill to increase timber harvest in Western Oregon is generating criticism from both sides of the ongoing logging debate.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:05:49 +0000 Rachael McDonald 4103 at http://klcc.org Wyden Timber Plan Faces Criticism Wyden Proposes Timber Compromise http://klcc.org/post/wyden-proposes-timber-compromise <p>Oregon Senator <a href="http://www.wyden.senate.gov/">Ron Wyden</a> has unveiled a bill to balance competing demands on more than two million acres of federal forest land in the state. So far, opinions differ on whether he’s found an approach that can resolve this long-standing tug-of-war.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 15:55:08 +0000 Liam Moriarty 3779 at http://klcc.org Wyden Proposes Timber Compromise The Science of Forest Management and Conservation http://klcc.org/post/science-forest-management-and-conservation <p></p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 01:34:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 1918 at http://klcc.org Early Rain Means Pile Burning Will Start Soon In The Siuslaw National Forest http://klcc.org/post/early-rain-means-pile-burning-will-start-soon-siuslaw-national-forest <p></p><p>Early rain arriving in Oregon will allow fall pile burning to begin in the Siuslaw National Forest.<br />The piles consist of woodland debris near roadways, and scenic areas in Oregon&#39;s forests. The practice is done every year in the fall to help prevent wildfires. Interagency Fire Staff Spokeswoman Nancy Ashlock says the reason they need to start now is because early rain makes the piles very receptive to moisture.</p> Sat, 28 Sep 2013 18:00:19 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 436 at http://klcc.org