Arts & Culture http://klcc.org en The Lives of Birds and What They Reveal About Being Human http://klcc.org/post/lives-birds-and-what-they-reveal-about-being-human <p>Noah Strycker is the author of <em>The Thing with Feathers: The Surprising Lives of Birds and What They Reveal About Being Human. </em>He’s also associate editor of <em>Birding </em>magazine, and he’ll be the guest speaker at this month’s Lane County Audubon Society meeting on Tuesday evening, April 22nd. He speaks with Eric Alan about birds’ surprising intelligence, including aspects of altruism, art and dance.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 12151 at http://klcc.org The Lives of Birds and What They Reveal About Being Human Eugene's Own "Shakespears" On The Bard's 450th Birthday http://klcc.org/post/eugenes-own-shakespears-bards-450th-birthday <p>William Shakespeare is said to have been born on&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; April 23rd 450 years ago.&nbsp; Eugene is home to a family named "Shakespear" -- and they're related to the Bard!&nbsp; Intrigued by their name,&nbsp; KLCC's Claude Offenbacher spoke with two family members:&nbsp; Roosevelt Middle School 8th grader Zac, and his mother,&nbsp; Christy.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 11365 at http://klcc.org Eugene's Own "Shakespears" On The Bard's 450th Birthday Gish Jen: Art, Culture and the Interdpendent Self http://klcc.org/post/gish-jen-art-culture-and-interdpendent-self <p>The University of Oregon English Department and the Collins Fund present <em>Asian American Voices, A Collins Literary Forum</em>, bringing four authors to the UO campus in spring. The first will be Gish Jen, author of four celebrated novels, a collection of short stories and her most recent book, <em>Tiger Writing: Art, Culture and the Interdependent</em> <em>Self.</em> That book is drawn from her lectures at Harvard University in 2012. She’ll appear in the Knight Library Browsing Room on the UO campus on Monday, April 21<sup>st</sup> at 8 p.m. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 12016 at http://klcc.org Gish Jen: Art, Culture and the Interdpendent Self Claudia Schmidt on the Saturday Cafe http://klcc.org/post/claudia-schmidt-saturday-cafe <p><strong><a href="http://claudiaschmidt.com" target="_blank">Claudia Schmidt</a></strong> has been a touring professional musician for over four decades, with nineteen albums of mostly original songs, exploring folk, blues, and jazz and spoken word. Her spring tour brought her to Salem and Eugene with her new Red House release,<em> New Whirled Order.</em></p><p></p><p></p> Sun, 20 Apr 2014 19:57:47 +0000 Frank Gosar 11212 at http://klcc.org Marx(ist) Brothers on the Saturday Cafe http://klcc.org/post/marxist-brothers-saturday-cafe <p style="margin-bottom: 0px; line-height: normal; font-family: Helvetica;">Live music should always be so lively!&nbsp; <a href="http://andycohenmusic.com" target="_blank">Andy Cohen</a>, <a href="http://chicoschwall.net" target="_blank">Chico Schwall</a> and <a href="http://lehnherr.com/butte/‎" target="_blank">Mark Ross</a> begin their first Northwest tour as the <strong>Marx(ist) Brothers</strong> with a rousing send-off on the Saturday Cafe.</p><p style="margin-bottom: 0px; line-height: normal; font-family: Helvetica;">&nbsp;</p> Sun, 20 Apr 2014 19:43:38 +0000 Frank Gosar 12088 at http://klcc.org Eugene Celebrates A Windy Earth Day http://klcc.org/post/eugene-celebrates-windy-earth-day <p>Despite rainy and windy conditions, hundreds of people celebrated Earth Day Saturday in the Eugene Water and Electric Board's downtown parking lot. The wind seemed to be more of a factor than the rain. Elizabeth Brown is with the organization "Our Children's Trust" who operated a booth at Earth Day. She says they tied their booth next to two adjacent ones.</p><p></p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 19:51:54 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 12059 at http://klcc.org Eugene Celebrates A Windy Earth Day David Jacobs-Strain and Bob Beach Live at KLCC http://klcc.org/post/david-jacobs-strain-and-bob-beach-live-klcc <p>David Jacobs-Strain merges the blues with his own musical vision, including in acoustic duo shows with Philadelphia harmonica master Bob Beach. He’s also recently been recording in southern California with some stellar players, including bassist Viktor Krauss (of Lyle Lovett's Large Band), Greg Leisz and legendary drummer Jim Keltner. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 22:27:53 +0000 Eric Alan 11954 at http://klcc.org David Jacobs-Strain and Bob Beach Live at KLCC Eugene Symphony Guest Conductor Grant Llewellyn http://klcc.org/post/eugene-symphony-guest-conductor-grant-llewellyn <p>Guest conductor Grant Llewellyn, a native of Wales, will join the Eugene Symphony for their April performances in Eugene and Florence. He also is participating in extensive artist residency programs this week as well. He speaks with Eric Alan about the experience.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 11816 at http://klcc.org Eugene Symphony Guest Conductor Grant Llewellyn Lincoln Gallery http://klcc.org/post/lincoln-gallery <p> Terry Way and Sandy Jenson visit Lincoln Gallery in Eugene. It's sponsored by Oregon Assisted Living Program.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Terry Way 11818 at http://klcc.org Lincoln Gallery Tom Spanbauer, I Loved You More http://klcc.org/post/tom-spanbauer-i-loved-you-more <p>Tom Spanbauer is the author of five acclaimed novels, and the founder of the teaching form called Dangerous Writing. His latest novel <em>I Loved You More </em>looks at the workings of a very complicated love triangle. Before giving a reading on the UO campus on Tuesday evening, April 15th, he speaks with Eric Alan about the muse of the secret sore place.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 11747 at http://klcc.org Tom Spanbauer, I Loved You More