Arts & Culture http://klcc.org en Music, Nature and Healing with Guitarist Craig Chaquico http://klcc.org/post/music-nature-and-healing-guitarist-craig-chaquico <p>Guitarist Craig Chaquico has led an exceptionally diverse career, from his early days as the lead guitarist for the multi-platinum selling Jefferson Starship, to a Grammy-nominated, million-selling solo career including success in the realms of smooth jazz, New Age, and lately blues. He’s now working with one of Oregon’s fine young vocalists, Shaeny Celine Johnson, and will be the headlining performer this Saturday at the three-day Newberry Event Music &amp; Arts Festival, a multiple sclerosis benefit in La Pine. He speaks with Eric Alan.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 18149 at http://klcc.org Music, Nature and Healing with Guitarist Craig Chaquico Storycatchers: Queen Marie Slugtoinette http://klcc.org/post/storycatchers-queen-marie-slugtoinette <p>The slug queen pageant has been a Eugene tradition since 1983, but the office of slug queen hasn't always been so involved in the community.<br /><br />Connie Van Flandern or Queen Marie Slug-toinette sat down with her friend Mitra&nbsp; Chester to talk about Connie's role in shaping the meaning of being slug queen.<br />&nbsp;</p><p></p><p> <a href="http://Connie Van Flandern">storycatchers.org</a></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:37:57 +0000 Evelyn Thorne 18101 at http://klcc.org Storycatchers: Queen Marie Slugtoinette Shredding Phone Books to Inspire Better Living http://klcc.org/post/shredding-phone-books-inspire-better-living <p>Mama Lou claims to be the only professional strong woman performer in the Northern Hemisphere. She visits the KLCC studios to rip a phone book in half and explain why her feats of strength provide inspiration for living a strong and beautiful life. She appears at the Lane County Fair every day through Sunday.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 18066 at http://klcc.org Shredding Phone Books to Inspire Better Living Absolute Harmony Live at KLCC http://klcc.org/post/absolute-harmony-live-klcc <p>A live in-studio performance at KLCC from Absolute Harmony, a five-piece all-women a cappella ensemble from Corvallis. They perform an original song, then cover Steve Martin, and talk with Eric Alan about being inspired by everything from South African freedom songs to their children.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 18070 at http://klcc.org Absolute Harmony Live at KLCC Lane County Fair Opens A Five-Day Run http://klcc.org/post/lane-county-fair-opens-five-day-run <p></p><p>The Lane County Fair opens today at the Eugene fairgrounds and runs through Sunday.&nbsp; It’s all about finding your thrill, your groove, your cuteness, and the goofy in you. We know because the fair’s website, <a href="http://atthefair.com">atthefair.com</a>, tells us so.&nbsp; To learn more about the fair and all the things you’ll find there,&nbsp; KLCC’S Claude Offenbacher speaks with Assistant Fair Manager Rachel Bivens:</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 17962 at http://klcc.org Lane County Fair Opens A Five-Day Run The New Watershed Arts Foundation http://klcc.org/post/new-watershed-arts-foundation <p>Sandy Jensen talks with Amy Isler Gibson, executive director of the new Watershed Arts Foundation.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>web link:&nbsp; <a href="http://watershedartsfoundation.org">watershedartsfoundation.org</a></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Terry Way 17628 at http://klcc.org The New Watershed Arts Foundation Ashland Review: Water By The Spoonful http://klcc.org/post/ashland-review-water-spoonful <p align="center"><strong>REVIEW OF </strong><strong>“</strong><strong>WATER BY THE SPOONFUL</strong><strong>”</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>by Dorothy Velasco</strong></p><p align="center"><strong>for broadcast on KLCC July 22, 2014</strong></p><p></p><p>“Water by the Spoonful,” by Quiara Alegria Hudes, won a Pulitzer Prize in 2012. Now playing at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival’s Thomas Theatre, it’s an excellent choice for the intimate space.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Gayle Chisholm 16309 at http://klcc.org Ashland Review: Water By The Spoonful The Oregon Country Fair: Rooted in Philanthropy http://klcc.org/post/oregon-country-fair-rooted-philanthropy <p></p><p></p><p>Meeting Date: July 18, 2014</p><p>Air Date: July 21, 2004</p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Angela Kellner 17809 at http://klcc.org The Oregon Country Fair: Rooted in Philanthropy 3 Leg Torso Live at KLCC http://klcc.org/post/3-leg-torso-live-klcc <p>The band 3 Leg Torso has been making eclectic music for nearly two decades, integrating elements of chamber music, tango, Gypsy music, Latin, klezmer and more. Their music has found its way into several films as well as on recordings. They’re currently working on two new albums, as well as hitting the road for the live shows that they love. They joined Eric Alan in the KLCC studios, on their way to the Axe and Fiddle in Cottage Grove.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 22:33:09 +0000 Eric Alan 17770 at http://klcc.org 3 Leg Torso Live at KLCC Quinceaneras: Not Just a Big Party http://klcc.org/post/quinceaneras-not-just-big-party <p></p><p></p><p>It is a colorful ritual that many Latinos brought with them when they immigrated to Oregon, and it is now more popular than ever. Quinceaneras celebrate the 15th birthday of Latino girls, but they are much more than just a big party.</p><p>Ileana Torres is being fitted for her quinceanera dress (zipper sound) at a Salem shop that specializes in them.&nbsp; Quinceaneras once were a way to present girls as ready for marriage. Now they're a rite of passage when, at the age of 15 girls, like Ileana, are expected to take on more responsibility:</p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 19:04:13 +0000 Jacob Lewin 17752 at http://klcc.org Quinceaneras: Not Just a Big Party