weather http://klcc.org en Farmers Recover After Cold Winter Weather http://klcc.org/post/farmers-recover-after-cold-winter-weather <p>Vendors at the Lane County Farmer’s Market say their crops are recovering after the snow and below zero temperatures that hit their fields this winter.</p><p>Booths are filled with kale, carrots, and potatoes at the Lane County Farmer’s Market. It’s hard to see that farmers suffered any losses after the winter’s harsh and unusual weather. But the farmers behind the tables and baskets of produce say the cold conditions came with a price.</p><p>Richardson: “We had some issues. The cold was harsh on us.”</p><p>Says Jack Richardson, the manager of Organic Redneck farm.</p> Thu, 20 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Amanda Butt 9845 at http://klcc.org Farmers Recover After Cold Winter Weather Storm Impacts Mt. Pisgah, OR Country Fair http://klcc.org/post/storm-impacts-mt-pisgah-or-country-fair <p></p><p></p><p>The 1999 fire that burned Mt. Pisgah grasslands also benefited the site by eradicating poison oak. Similarly, the winter storm earlier this month both damaged and enhanced the Lane County arboretum.&nbsp; Tom LoCascio, Mt. Pisgah site manager, says the deciduous forest got hit:</p><p>LoCascio: &nbsp;“We saw a lot of tops breaking out of trees.&nbsp; It seemed like the oaks in particular took it pretty hard, and some of the big leaf maples as well.”</p><p>In assessing damage, LoCascio says, sometimes we consider only the individual species, the single oak tree,</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 8849 at http://klcc.org Storm Impacts Mt. Pisgah, OR Country Fair Flooding Prompts Benton County To Open Fairgrounds To Animals http://klcc.org/post/flooding-prompts-benton-county-open-fairgrounds-animals <p>Benton County has opened the barns at its Fairgrounds to animals in need of refuge from high water conditions.</p><p></p><p><br />Osborn: "We don’t know that it will get any worse, but we don't know that it won't."<br /><br />Those words from Benton County Spokesman Rick Osborn about the potential for high water over the next few days.&nbsp; Osborn says melting snow and rain have caused some pastures in the county to flood and at least one barn collapsed under the recent snow.</p><p></p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 03:21:04 +0000 Jes Burns 8132 at http://klcc.org Flooding Prompts Benton County To Open Fairgrounds To Animals Snowstorms And Freezing Rain Affect Local Economy http://klcc.org/post/snowstorms-and-freezing-rain-affect-local-economy <p>It will take time to determine the long-term economic impacts of the extreme weather that hit the region this past week. But there are some immediate effects we can observe.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:16:28 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8108 at http://klcc.org Snowstorms And Freezing Rain Affect Local Economy Tree Debris To Take Weeks To Clear http://klcc.org/post/tree-debris-take-weeks-clear <p>With ice and snow melting, Eugene Public Works has converted its plows to dump trucks. Crews are busy responding to hundreds of reports of trees and branches on local streets.</p><p>Eric Jones is with Eugene Public Works. He says their first priority is to clear roads of debris, which he hopes will be done by Wednesday.</p><p>Jones: "And then, eventually, we will come through and clean things up nice and tidy, even finish by sweeping, but that's probably a week or more out."</p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 23:25:28 +0000 Karen Richards 8064 at http://klcc.org Tree Debris To Take Weeks To Clear Frigid Weather This Week In Northwest http://klcc.org/post/frigid-weather-week-northwest <p>The northwest is in for another arctic blast this week. Snow is likely this weekend in the lower elevations, including the south Willamette Valley.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 19:51:51 +0000 Rachael McDonald 7541 at http://klcc.org Frigid Weather This Week In Northwest Unusually Dry Winter Sparks Small Wildfires in Oregon http://klcc.org/post/unusually-dry-winter-sparks-small-wildfires-oregon <p>Several wildfires sparked overnight in the Oregon coast range and Cascade foothills. The National Weather service has issued a rare January Red Flag Warning for the region.<br /><br />Trina Hartley is a meteorologist with the National Weather Service in Portland.&nbsp; She says strong easterly winds encouraged the small blazes. A few are in the Cascades in southern Oregon But there were also several fires in the coast range.<br /><br />Hartley: "On the coast in particular it's hard to get a fire started in July so to have these fire starts in January is extremely rare."<br /> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 19:17:51 +0000 Rachael McDonald 6960 at http://klcc.org High Pressure Is The Culprit For South Valley Fog http://klcc.org/post/high-pressure-culprit-south-valley-fog <p>The South Willamette Valley has been blanketed in fog and clouds with an air stagnation advisory in place for more than a week.</p> Tue, 21 Jan 2014 18:34:35 +0000 Rachael McDonald 6783 at http://klcc.org High Pressure Is The Culprit For South Valley Fog Ski Industry Praying For Snow After Record Dry Year http://klcc.org/post/ski-industry-praying-snow-after-record-dry-year <p>2013 was a record dry year in Eugene and Medford [Oregon]. Many areas around the region have gotten half of their average snowfall or less. That’s got Northwest ski resorts, many of which haven’t even opened yet, nervously waiting for snow. So are thousands of workers and retailers who depend on the ski season. And, there’s little relief in sight.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 03 Jan 2014 14:34:50 +0000 Liam Moriarty 5829 at http://klcc.org Ski Industry Praying For Snow After Record Dry Year 2013 Was A Dry Year For Oregon http://klcc.org/post/2013-was-dry-year-oregon <p>2013 was a really dry year for Oregon. Climate scientists at Oregon State University say it was the driest on record for Eugene despite a soggy September.</p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 18:16:31 +0000 Rachael McDonald 5670 at http://klcc.org 2013 Was A Dry Year For Oregon