EWEB http://klcc.org en EWEB Closes Reservoir For Days Surrounding July 4 http://klcc.org/post/eweb-closes-reservoir-days-surrounding-july-4 <p> The Eugene Water and Electric Board will lock the gates to the College Hill Reservoir on Friday to protect the surface from firework damage. The reservoir is usually open to the public but EWEB began restricting access during the fourth of July. In 2010, 2011, and 2012 the facility sustained damages to the rubber surface during the holiday week.</p><p>Joe Harwood, a spokesman from EWEB says damage to the surface of the reservoir could result in contamination.</p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 21:39:09 +0000 Amanda Butt 16291 at http://klcc.org EWEB Closes Reservoir For Days Surrounding July 4 Middle School Students Design, Build, And Race Solar Cars http://klcc.org/post/middle-school-students-design-build-and-race-solar-cars <p>Solar powered cars? There may be problems driving at night, but during a perfectly sunny day in Eugene Saturday, middle school-ers tried their models out during the annual Solar Challenge.</p><p></p><p>The competition held at Cal Young Middle School, is sponsored by the Eugene Water and Electric Board and featured about 250 students. Cars were entered into four categories: Speed racing, a hill climb, and art and science concept cars. Tim Whitley is EWEB's grant coordinator. He says the project increases awareness of alternative energy and gives kids a hands-on opportunity.</p> Sun, 08 Jun 2014 16:08:17 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 15191 at http://klcc.org Middle School Students Design, Build, And Race Solar Cars Four Suitors Court EWEB Riverfront http://klcc.org/post/four-suitors-court-eweb-riverfront <p>Four groups have expressed interest in developing a 27-acre tract along the Willamette River in Eugene. <a href="http://eweb.org/riverfront">Eugene Water and Electric Board</a> envisions a vibrant, mixed-use "people place" at their Riverfront site.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 19:31:58 +0000 Rachael McDonald 14457 at http://klcc.org Four Suitors Court EWEB Riverfront EmX Pre-Construction Begins In May http://klcc.org/post/emx-pre-construction-begins-may <p>Pre-Construction activities are scheduled to begin in May for the West Eugene Em-X transit project.</p> Sun, 27 Apr 2014 17:30:55 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 12554 at http://klcc.org EmX Pre-Construction Begins In May Natural Solutions to Manmade Problems on Oregon Rivers http://klcc.org/post/natural-solutions-manmade-problems-oregon-rivers <p></p><p></p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 13:43:11 +0000 Devan Schwartz 12438 at http://klcc.org Natural Solutions to Manmade Problems on Oregon Rivers Eugene Celebrates A Windy Earth Day http://klcc.org/post/eugene-celebrates-windy-earth-day <p>Despite rainy and windy conditions, hundreds of people celebrated Earth Day Saturday in the Eugene Water and Electric Board's downtown parking lot. The wind seemed to be more of a factor than the rain. Elizabeth Brown is with the organization "Our Children's Trust" who operated a booth at Earth Day. She says they tied their booth next to two adjacent ones.</p><p></p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 19:51:54 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 12059 at http://klcc.org Eugene Celebrates A Windy Earth Day High Pricetag To Fix Old McKenzie Dam http://klcc.org/post/high-pricetag-fix-old-mckenzie-dam <p>The Eugene Water and Electric Board hopes to start repairing Leaburg Dam as soon as May. The cost to fix the 83-year-old structure on the McKenzie River is projected to be $2.8 million. That's about twice the previous estimate.</p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 19:43:27 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11012 at http://klcc.org High Pricetag To Fix Old McKenzie Dam Crews Work to Restore Power to Thousands After Storm http://klcc.org/post/crews-work-restore-power-thousands-after-storm <p>Thousands of Oregonians were still without power Monday morning after Saturday's ice storm. Crews from local utilities have been working long hours to restore it but for a few people the wait may go into tomorrow.</p><p></p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 19:57:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 7965 at http://klcc.org Crews Work to Restore Power to Thousands After Storm Ice Storm Causes Hundreds Of Downed Trees, Thousands Without Power http://klcc.org/post/ice-storm-causes-hundreds-downed-trees-thousands-without-power <p>Following last week's snow and freezing rain Saturday, utility companies have been dealing with power outages throughout the South Willamette Valley.</p><p>According to the Eugene Water and Electric Board, thousands of customers are without power particularly in the South hills, the Laurel Hill Valley, and a portion of southwest Eugene. EWEB Spokesman Joe Harwood says crews have been working through night.</p><p>Harwood: "It's one of those things where we take two steps forward and three steps back."</p><p>Harwood says multiple crews worked until around 3 AM trying to restore power.</p> Sun, 09 Feb 2014 18:34:43 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 7922 at http://klcc.org Ice Storm Causes Hundreds Of Downed Trees, Thousands Without Power EWEB Has Some Tips To Keep Your Pipes From Freezing http://klcc.org/post/eweb-has-some-tips-keep-your-pipes-freezing <p>The last winter storm in December left hundreds of Eugene residents with frozen or burst pipes. That means more work for plumbers and utility workers, but the costs can be expensive for homeowners or renters. Joe Harwood is the Communications Coordinator for the Eugene Water and Electric Board. He has some tips for keeping your pipes from freezing.</p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 23:58:13 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 7848 at http://klcc.org