transportation http://klcc.org en Lane Transit and ATU Agree on 3-Year Contract http://klcc.org/post/lane-transit-and-atu-agree-3-year-contract <p></p><p>Lane Transit District and the Amalgamated Transit Union reached agreement on a three-year labor pact hours before its existing contract expired.&nbsp;</p><p>The new contract was arrived at just in time to meet the current contract’s July first expiration.&nbsp; It grants annual cost of living increases of two, two point 75, and 3 point 35 percent respectively through 2017.&nbsp;</p><p>L-T-D’s &nbsp;Andy Verbora says its labor negotiations have come a long way from 2005, when the union went on strike:</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 19:10:09 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 16650 at http://klcc.org Lane Transit and ATU Agree on 3-Year Contract Lots Of Speeders, But States Have Few Answers On How To Slow Them Down http://klcc.org/post/lots-speeders-states-have-few-answers-how-slow-them-down <p></p><p></p> Mon, 28 Apr 2014 16:39:03 +0000 Jessica Robinson 12590 at http://klcc.org Lots Of Speeders, But States Have Few Answers On How To Slow Them Down EmX Pre-Construction Begins In May http://klcc.org/post/emx-pre-construction-begins-may <p>Pre-Construction activities are scheduled to begin in May for the West Eugene Em-X transit project.</p> Sun, 27 Apr 2014 17:30:55 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 12554 at http://klcc.org EmX Pre-Construction Begins In May Eugene May Implement Test of Traffic Change http://klcc.org/post/eugene-may-implement-test-traffic-change <p>The city of Eugene is trying to improve the safety of a portion of <a href="https://www.eugene-or.gov/SWillametteStreet">Willamette Street</a>. Three alternatives are being considered for the stretch between 24th and 29th avenues. The first would be to keep the busy street in its current configuration with 4 vehicle traffic lanes and no bike lanes. Another would turn the roadway into three lanes with bike lanes on each side. The center lane would be a turn lane. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:26:41 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11905 at http://klcc.org Talk Trains In Eugene Tuesday http://klcc.org/post/talk-trains-eugene-tuesday <p>A report out Monday says Americans are increasing their use of public transportation. This is true in the northwest where the Cascade Line between Eugene and Vancouver, BC is one of the fastest growing rail lines in the country. Tuesday, there's a conversation about rail in Eugene.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 20:52:49 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9550 at http://klcc.org Talk Trains In Eugene Tuesday Rising River Eats Away At Highway 20 Near Eddyville http://klcc.org/post/rising-river-eats-away-highway-20-near-eddyville <p>A rising Yaquina River has eaten away the foundation of U.S. 20 through the Coast Range in a narrow, twisty section that for years has made trouble for drivers and highway workers alike.<br /><br />The Oregon Department of Transportation says travel at a curve about four miles west of Eddyville in Lincoln County will be down to a single lane while crews bring in rock to rebuild the foundation. ODOT Spokesman Rick Little says the area was hit hard by the recent snowstorm.</p><p></p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 19:25:25 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8099 at http://klcc.org Rising River Eats Away At Highway 20 Near Eddyville The Role of Transit in Our Community Vision http://klcc.org/post/role-transit-our-community-vision <p>Meeting Date: 1-31-14</p><p>Air Date: 2-3-14</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:11:00 +0000 Jes Burns 7460 at http://klcc.org The Hour Of Decision Is Near For The Columbia River Crossing http://klcc.org/post/hour-decision-near-columbia-river-crossing <p></p><p></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 15:22:03 +0000 Chris Lehman 7172 at http://klcc.org The Hour Of Decision Is Near For The Columbia River Crossing UO Group Proposes 2-Way Bike Lane On E. 13th In Eugene http://klcc.org/post/uo-group-proposes-2-way-bike-lane-e-13th-eugene <p>A University of Oregon group has put together a proposal for changing the bike lane on Eugene’s East 13th Avenue from one way to two ways.</p><p><br />Called LiveMove, the group consists of students who focus on how transportation systems relate to community quality of life. Their newest idea relates directly with the new Capstone building downtown. The current bike lane only leads to campus, not back. Faculty Advisor Marc Schlossberg says the proposal wouldn’t lead to any construction.</p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 19:43:24 +0000 Graham Sprague 4153 at http://klcc.org UO Group Proposes 2-Way Bike Lane On E. 13th In Eugene Eugene May Allow Skateboards On Streets http://klcc.org/post/eugene-may-allow-skateboards-streets <p></p><p>Skate boarders may soon have more places to ride in Eugene. The City is considering making it legal for them to use streets and bike paths.</p><p></p><p><br /><a href="http://www.eugene-or.gov">City of Eugene</a> Pedestrian and Bicycle Coordinator Lee Shoemaker says he's heard from skate boarders who complain they can't skate on the streets or sidewalk in downtown and by the U of O campus. It's currently illegal to skateboard on Eugene's streets.<br /><br />Shoemaker: "</p><p></p> Fri, 15 Nov 2013 18:25:42 +0000 Rachael McDonald 3141 at http://klcc.org Eugene May Allow Skateboards On Streets