homeless http://klcc.org en Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower http://klcc.org/post/tally-shows-total-number-homeless-lane-county-lower <p>In 2013, about 10,000 people in Lane County experienced homelessness.&nbsp; Although high, Lane County Human Services says this is an improvement from the previous year. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 01:55:15 +0000 Jes Burns 13160 at http://klcc.org Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time http://klcc.org/post/whoville-residents-and-advocates-ask-city-more-time <p>Advocates for the Eugene homeless encampment known as Whoville are pushing for an extension of a deadline to close down the camp.&nbsp; They expect the City will begin the process of evicting residents Tuesday.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 02:15:15 +0000 Jes Burns 10883 at http://klcc.org Whoville Residents And Advocates Ask City For More Time New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium http://klcc.org/post/new-homeless-rest-stop-approved-near-autzen-stadium <p>The Eugene City Council voted to open another homeless rest stop at a work session Monday evening.&nbsp; The move comes after residents of the illegal homeless camp known as Whoville objected to a previously-approved site near the Whiteaker.<br /> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 03:04:35 +0000 Jes Burns 9563 at http://klcc.org New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work http://klcc.org/post/whoville-folks-say-proposed-site-not-going-work <p></p><p></p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 21:14:55 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9274 at http://klcc.org Whoville Folks Say Proposed Site Is Not Going To Work ShelterCare In the Whit: Renovating Buildings And Reviving Lives http://klcc.org/post/sheltercare-whit-renovating-buildings-and-reviving-lives <p>Meeting Date: February 28, 2014</p><p>Air Date: March 3, 2014</p><p>Organizations in our community are not only concerned about people who are homeless, they are taking concrete steps to create housing for vulnerable families and individuals. ShelterCare is a local nonprofit, organized more than four decades ago to serve homeless families. For a quarter-century, the organization has been providing transitional support for families leaving shelter. Their focus is on families, persons with mental illness, and those with brain injuries.</p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 9066 at http://klcc.org Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot http://klcc.org/post/eugene-council-extends-sunset-date-overnight-camping-pilot <p>The Eugene City Council voted Monday night to extend the pilot rest stop program, designed to provide the city’s homeless with temporary shelter on city-owned property.</p><p></p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 05:46:28 +0000 Jes Burns 8785 at http://klcc.org Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot Whoville Won't Have To Move After 30-day Reprieve Is Over http://klcc.org/post/whoville-wont-have-move-after-30-day-reprieve-over <p></p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Rachael McDonald 8620 at http://klcc.org Whoville Won't Have To Move After 30-day Reprieve Is Over The Beating Heart Of The City: What To Do About Kesey Square http://klcc.org/post/beating-heart-city-what-do-about-kesey-square <p>Recorded on: January 17, 2014</p><p>Air Date: January 20, 2014</p> Sat, 22 Feb 2014 14:20:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 6668 at http://klcc.org Eugene Considers Expanding Homeless Rest-Stops, Restricting Fireworks http://klcc.org/post/eugene-considers-expanding-homeless-rest-stops-restricting-fireworks <p>Eugene City Councilors Monday proposed extending the sunset date on the rest-stop ordinance until October 31, 2014. This will require a public hearing.</p><p></p> Tue, 28 Jan 2014 17:00:38 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Jes Burns 7183 at http://klcc.org Eugene Considers Expanding Homeless Rest-Stops, Restricting Fireworks Whoville Residents Have Mixed Feelings About Fence http://klcc.org/post/whoville-residents-have-mixed-feelings-about-fence <p>Residents of the Eugene homeless camp referred to as Whoville have mixed feelings about a new chain link fence. The Eugene Police Department set up the barrier Friday and left two openings for people to pass through. Some, like Whoville resident Marty, say they feel safer with the fence up.</p> Sat, 25 Jan 2014 16:08:59 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 7023 at http://klcc.org Whoville Residents Have Mixed Feelings About Fence