same-sex marriage http://klcc.org en Same-Sex Marriage Licenses Issued In Lane County http://klcc.org/post/same-sex-marriage-licenses-issued-lane-county <p>Same-sex couples in Lane County took advantage of a federal ruling Monday legalizing gay marriage in the state.<br /><br />KLCC’s Jes Burns reports from the county building in downtown Eugene, where Dozens of same-sex couples lined up to apply for marriage licenses. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 02:56:41 +0000 Jes Burns 13967 at http://klcc.org Same-Sex Marriage Licenses Issued In Lane County Federal Judge In Oregon Rules In Favor Of Gay Marriage http://klcc.org/post/federal-judge-oregon-rules-favor-gay-marriage-0 <p></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 19:24:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 13939 at http://klcc.org Federal Judge In Oregon Rules In Favor Of Gay Marriage Federal Judge Hears Arguments To Overturn Oregon's Same-sex Marriage Ban http://klcc.org/post/federal-judge-hears-arguments-overturn-oregons-same-sex-marriage-ban <p></p><p></p><p>KLCC's Angela Kellner speaks with Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman about the oral arguments heard in a federal courtroom in Eugene Wednesday. The plaintiffs are urging Judge Michael McShane to overturn the state's constitutional ban on same-sex marriage ban.</p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 14:21:14 +0000 Angela Kellner 12353 at http://klcc.org Federal Judge Hears Arguments To Overturn Oregon's Same-sex Marriage Ban Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing http://klcc.org/post/gay-rights-supporters-gather-ahead-landmark-court-hearing <p>Late Tuesday afternoon, gay rights supporters in seven cities around Oregon gathered for a vigil ahead of a landmark court case.&nbsp; A federal judge in Eugene will hear oral arguments Wednesday afternoon challenging the state's ban on same-sex marriage.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 19:40:06 +0000 Jes Burns 12296 at http://klcc.org Gay Rights Supporters Gather Ahead Of Landmark Court Hearing Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing http://klcc.org/post/judge-denies-motion-delay-same-sex-marriage-hearing <p>Wednesday's federal hearing on Oregon's same-sex marriage ban will go ahead as scheduled, after a Eugene judge today denied a motion to postpone by opponents. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p><br />The Oregon Attorney General announced back in February that the state would not defend the voter-approved Constitutional ban on same-sex marriage.&nbsp; The state said the ban would not stand up to a federal equal rights challenge.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 22 Apr 2014 22:55:50 +0000 Jes Burns 12237 at http://klcc.org Judge Denies Motion To Delay Same-Sex Marriage Hearing Campaign To Legalize Same-Sex Marriage In Oregon Eyes 2014 Election http://klcc.org/post/campaign-legalize-same-sex-marriage-oregon-eyes-2014-election <p>Voters across Oregon have until 8pm Tuesday evening to turn in their ballots.&nbsp; Overall, it's been a rather uneventful general election, with mostly small communities voting on local measures. &nbsp;<br /><br />But next year, things are sure to be different.&nbsp; Not only will Congressional seats be up for grabs, several high-stakes issues are making their way to the ballot.</p> Tue, 05 Nov 2013 08:21:00 +0000 Jes Burns 2458 at http://klcc.org