crime http://klcc.org en Arrests Highlight Threat to Ancient Redwoods http://klcc.org/post/arrests-highlight-threat-ancient-redwoods <p>Two men have been charged with damaging old growth trees in northern California’s Redwood National and State Forest. The arrests are the first in response to a recent increase in illegal poaching of redwood burl.</p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 27 May 2014 13:54:03 +0000 Liam Moriarty 14421 at http://klcc.org Arrests Highlight Threat to Ancient Redwoods OR Prisoners Will Soon Have A Way To Fight Wrongful Convictions http://klcc.org/post/or-prisoners-will-soon-have-way-fight-wrongful-convictions <p>Until now, Oregon was the only state in the country without a program dedicated to investigating claims of wrongful conviction. The “Oregon Innocence Project” aims to provide a way to help.</p><p>Before the late 1990’s, the idea someone could serve time for a crime they didn’t commit was unusual. As DNA evidence became admissible, challenges to wrongful convictions grew.</p><p>Aliza Kaplan is a co-founder of the Oregon Innocence Project.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:19:36 +0000 Karen Richards 11353 at http://klcc.org OR Prisoners Will Soon Have A Way To Fight Wrongful Convictions Reporter Reflects On Murder Trial http://klcc.org/post/reporter-reflects-murder-trial <p>Wednesday, a jury convicted Johan Gillette on two counts of aggravated murder and one count of intentional murder in the deaths of his father James Gillette and Anne Dhu McLucas. Next week, they decide on sentencing. Throughout the trial, the Register Guard coverage has been high profile. Their reporter Greg Bolt spoke with KLCC's Tripp Sommer.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 13:57:21 +0000 Tripp Sommer 10245 at http://klcc.org Gang Specialist Translates Graffiti, Details Scope of Problem http://klcc.org/post/gang-specialist-translates-graffiti-details-scope-problem <p></p><p></p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:28:45 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9809 at http://klcc.org Gang Specialist Translates Graffiti, Details Scope of Problem Officer Involved Shooting Prompts School Lockdowns in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/officer-involved-shooting-prompts-school-lockdowns-eugene <p>A man is dead after an officer involved shooting Wednesday afternoon in West Eugene.&nbsp; The incident prompted lockdowns at Churchill High and Kennedy Middle Schools.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 14:17:58 +0000 Jes Burns 3451 at http://klcc.org Officer Involved Shooting Prompts School Lockdowns in Eugene Burglars Target Unoccupied Homes in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/burglars-target-unoccupied-homes-eugene <p><a href="http://www.eugene-or.gov/police">Eugene Police</a> are warning people whose homes are unoccupied to take measures to prevent theft. Two suspects are facing burglary charges following a multi-week crime spree targeting homes that were listed for sale or in foreclosure.</p> Mon, 18 Nov 2013 20:02:47 +0000 Rachael McDonald 3281 at http://klcc.org Burglars Target Unoccupied Homes in Eugene Police Want Your Reports Online http://klcc.org/post/police-want-your-reports-online <p>You don’t need a police officer any more to file a police report. The Eugene Police Department now allows citizens to file them online. &nbsp;</p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Lucy Ohlsen 2502 at http://klcc.org Eugene Police Partner With UO Students On Crime Prevention http://klcc.org/post/eugene-police-partner-uo-students-crime-prevention <p>For several years, the Eugene Police Department has focused on educating college students about crime prevention. Now there is a new partnership, led by student interns.</p><p><br />Sergeant Lisa Barong is with the EPD crime prevention unit:<br />Barong: "Our local college students are victims of property crime at a much higher rate than most of the citizens in our community."<br />Last school year, the police worked with a public relations class at the U of O. They brainstormed ways to educate students on how to protect their property from break-in and theft.</p><p></p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 08:00:01 +0000 Karen Richards 2743 at http://klcc.org Eugene Police Partner With UO Students On Crime Prevention San Diego Is Biggest Entry Point For Mexican Meth http://klcc.org/post/san-diego-biggest-entry-point-mexican-meth <p>This week we’re looking at the illegal drug trade along the west coast. In this third story in our series, reporter Jill Replogle from Fronteras: The Changing America Desk, looks at San Diego, California’s role in the methamphetamine trade. More than 70 percent of methamphetamine illegally trafficked into the U.S. passes through U.S.-Mexico border crossings in the San Diego area. And as Jill reports, that’s despite laws in both countries designed to crack down on the drug.</p><p>Customs and Border Protection agents here at the San Ysidro Port of Entry face a tough balancing act.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 14:05:21 +0000 Jill Repogle 149 at http://klcc.org San Diego Is Biggest Entry Point For Mexican Meth Drug Cartels Thrive On Ultimate Consumers: Addicts http://klcc.org/post/drug-cartels-thrive-ultimate-consumers-addicts <p>Drug traffickers are doing big business up and down the West Coast. When you go by freeway, you’re driving a Silk Road of sorts for heroin, meth and cocaine. This export industry is evolving. Drug experts say heroin is back on the rise, fueled in part by prescription drug abuse. This week, in a series we call Border to Border Drugs, we’re reporting on drug trafficking rings that rely on every freeway in the West. In part two of the series, correspondent Chris Lehman reports on how the supply side of this business may change, but the demand remains strong.</p> Wed, 18 Sep 2013 13:56:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 144 at http://klcc.org Drug Cartels Thrive On Ultimate Consumers: Addicts