water http://klcc.org en Florence STEP Part 1: Fish Conservation Organization Regroups After Hatchery Loss http://klcc.org/post/florence-step-part-1-fish-conservation-organization-regroups-after-hatchery-loss <p>A volunteer-run fish conservation group in Florence is shifting focus nearly two months after suffering a significant set-back.&nbsp; The Salmon and Trout Enhancement Program, or “STEP,” lost all the newly-hatched Coho from their hatchery on Munsel Creek.&nbsp; Despite the tenor of media reports at the time, the loss is relatively insignificant from an ecological standpoint.&nbsp; It's the group's work with local students that’s affected most. &nbsp;<br /> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 07:25:00 +0000 Jes Burns 11204 at http://klcc.org Florence STEP Part 1: Fish Conservation Organization Regroups After Hatchery Loss State Denies McKenzie River Water Rights Application http://klcc.org/post/state-denies-mckenzie-river-water-rights-application <p>The state of Oregon has denied a permit application from Willamette Water Company for water rights on the McKenzie River. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 02:04:28 +0000 Jes Burns 9649 at http://klcc.org State Denies McKenzie River Water Rights Application Four Terrebonne Water District Directors Face Recall http://klcc.org/post/four-terrebonne-water-district-directors-face-recall <p>A group of disgruntled citizens in Deschutes County has succeeded in getting a special recall election. Voters in the Terrebonne Water District will decide April 1<sup>st</sup> whether to keep four of the five members on their utility board.</p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Karen Richards 8854 at http://klcc.org Four Terrebonne Water District Directors Face Recall Newport Residents Need To Boil Water http://klcc.org/post/newport-residents-need-boil-water <p>Due to a loss of water pressure in a section of Newport's distribution system, residents are being asked to boil their drinking water until tests can confirm it is safe to drink. A water main break at NE 5<sup>th</sup> and Eads St. Tuesday evening forced the City to de-pressurize the system in that area. Newport's Director of Public Works, Tim Gross, says the State requires a boil water notice to go out after they de-pressurize any water system.</p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 23:02:32 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 4595 at http://klcc.org Agreement Could Mean End To Klamath Water Wars http://klcc.org/post/agreement-could-mean-end-klamath-water-wars <p>For decades, farmers and ranchers have engaged in a bitter tug-of-war with fishermen and Indian tribes over scarce water supplies in the Klamath Basin. Now, government officials and stakeholders have announced the broad outlines of an agreement they say could finally bring peace to the region.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 15:47:41 +0000 Liam Moriarty 4205 at http://klcc.org Agreement Could Mean End To Klamath Water Wars EWEB Proposes Rate Increases http://klcc.org/post/eweb-proposes-rate-increases <p>Come February, Eugene Water and Electric Board customers will be paying more for their utilities, if the board approves proposed rate increases.</p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 00:19:56 +0000 Karen Richards 2530 at http://klcc.org EWEB Proposes Rate Increases