Crime & Law http://klcc.org en City of Florence Interviewing Six Finalists for Chief of Police http://klcc.org/post/city-florence-interviewing-six-finalists-chief-police <p>The City of Florence is looking for a new chief of police. One of the finalists is <a href="http://www.lanecounty.org/departments/sheriff/Pages/default.aspx">Lane County Sheriff</a> Tom Turner.</p><p>The <a href="http://www.ci.florence.or.us/police">Interim Chief of Police in Florence</a> is Lynn Lamm who was appointed after Ray Gutierrez retired. The chief oversees 22 employees, including 9 officers.</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 04:03:15 +0000 Angela Kellner 11881 at http://klcc.org Pair Of Teens Suspected In Creswell Cinder Block Attack http://klcc.org/post/pair-teens-suspected-creswell-cinder-block-attack <p>Oregon State Police have identified two teenagers they believe are responsible for throwing a cinder block of an I-5 overpass in the Creswell area early Sunday morning. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 01:17:57 +0000 Jes Burns 11819 at http://klcc.org Pair Of Teens Suspected In Creswell Cinder Block Attack Arsons Reported At Two Eugene Middle Schools http://klcc.org/post/arsons-reported-two-eugene-middle-schools <p>Emergency crews in Eugene responded to two arsons at schools in the past 48-hours.&nbsp; Eugene police say the fires were started by teenagers and did not cause any injuries. &nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 15 Apr 2014 03:35:20 +0000 Jes Burns 11752 at http://klcc.org Arsons Reported At Two Eugene Middle Schools Police Use Social Media To Try And Stop Party http://klcc.org/post/police-use-social-media-try-and-stop-party <p>The Marion County Sheriff's Department tapped into social media to extinguish a party before it started. Early Friday, the sheriff's office says it began receiving tips from community partners about a large party set to take place somewhere in Marion County. Police say the party was organized via Twitter using the trend #Project NAT. The Sheriff's office tried to prevent the party from happening by broadcasting information and contacting the organizer. Around 9:30 PM, police located the party near Packsaddle Park with a stage, bonfire, and alcoholic beverages. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 18:10:35 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 11639 at http://klcc.org Police Use Social Media To Try And Stop Party OR Prisoners Will Soon Have A Way To Fight Wrongful Convictions http://klcc.org/post/or-prisoners-will-soon-have-way-fight-wrongful-convictions <p>Until now, Oregon was the only state in the country without a program dedicated to investigating claims of wrongful conviction. The “Oregon Innocence Project” aims to provide a way to help.</p><p>Before the late 1990’s, the idea someone could serve time for a crime they didn’t commit was unusual. As DNA evidence became admissible, challenges to wrongful convictions grew.</p><p>Aliza Kaplan is a co-founder of the Oregon Innocence Project.</p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:19:36 +0000 Karen Richards 11353 at http://klcc.org OR Prisoners Will Soon Have A Way To Fight Wrongful Convictions Eugene Police Analyses Bias http://klcc.org/post/eugene-police-analyses-bias <p>The Eugene Police and Police Commission are taking a look at whether bias or profiling plays a role in how cops approach their work. There's a public forum Thursday evening for people to voice their concerns.<br /><br />The Police Commission is drafting a policy on bias-based policing policy. At the same time EPD is developing new methods for collecting data on contact between police and the public. Carter Hawley is a Management Analyst for the Eugene Police Department. She says there's a perception that bias based on race, gender, age or other factors plays a role in police activity. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 19:03:00 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11009 at http://klcc.org Gillette Sentenced To Life In Prison, No Parole http://klcc.org/post/gillette-sentenced-life-prison-no-parole <p></p><p></p><p>Johan Gillette was sentenced Tuesday to life in prison with no possibility of parole. Gilllette was convicted in a jury trial of aggravated murder in the deaths of his father James Gillette and Anne Dhu McLucas. A court settlement took the sentencing out of the jury's hands.</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 19:30:54 +0000 Rachael McDonald 10481 at http://klcc.org Gillette Sentenced To Life In Prison, No Parole Underfunded Criminal Justice System Cited In Release Of Accused Murderer http://klcc.org/post/underfunded-criminal-justice-system-cited-release-accused-murderer <p>Lane County's District Attorney says lack of law enforcement capacity contributed the release of a man accused of killing two people over the last few weeks. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Sat, 22 Mar 2014 01:57:46 +0000 Jes Burns & Rachael McDonald 10293 at http://klcc.org Underfunded Criminal Justice System Cited In Release Of Accused Murderer Reporter Reflects On Murder Trial http://klcc.org/post/reporter-reflects-murder-trial <p>Wednesday, a jury convicted Johan Gillette on two counts of aggravated murder and one count of intentional murder in the deaths of his father James Gillette and Anne Dhu McLucas. Next week, they decide on sentencing. Throughout the trial, the Register Guard coverage has been high profile. Their reporter Greg Bolt spoke with KLCC's Tripp Sommer.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 13:57:21 +0000 Tripp Sommer 10245 at http://klcc.org Gang Specialist Translates Graffiti, Details Scope of Problem http://klcc.org/post/gang-specialist-translates-graffiti-details-scope-problem <p></p><p></p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 13:28:45 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9809 at http://klcc.org Gang Specialist Translates Graffiti, Details Scope of Problem