government http://klcc.org en Public And Board Respond To Civic Stadium Sale Recommendation http://klcc.org/post/public-and-board-respond-civic-stadium-sale-recommendation <p>Earlier this week, 4J Schools Superintendent Sheldon Berman recommended the sale of the Civic Stadium properties to the City of Eugene, over competing bids from Fred Meyer and the YMCA. &nbsp;A final decision by the 4J Board is still two weeks away. &nbsp;Wednesday night, Board members heard community response to the recommendation.</p><div></div><div>Berman: “This has been a long process…”<p></p><p></p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 06:55:02 +0000 Jes Burns 7713 at http://klcc.org Public And Board Respond To Civic Stadium Sale Recommendation Science Vessel Continues Research Voyage Despite Govt Shutdown http://klcc.org/post/science-vessel-continues-research-voyage-despite-govt-shutdown <p>An <a href="http://oregonstate.edu/research/">Oregon State University</a> research vessel is continuing its federally funded mission even though the federal government is shutdown.</p> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 17:41:24 +0000 Rachael McDonald 1093 at http://klcc.org Science Vessel Continues Research Voyage Despite Govt Shutdown County Moves Forward On Hiring New Administrator http://klcc.org/post/county-moves-forward-hiring-new-administrator <p>The Lane County Board of Commissioners will use a Washington State recruitment firm to find candidates for their new Administrator.</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Oct 2013 20:39:03 +0000 Rachael McDonald 929 at http://klcc.org County Moves Forward On Hiring New Administrator Govt Shutdown Won't Have Immediate Affect in Lane County http://klcc.org/post/govt-shutdown-wont-have-immediate-affect-lane-county <p>The government shutdown may not have immediate impacts on most Oregonians. But, officials say, if it continues for several weeks, veterans and others who depend on federal programs could be affected. Jason Davis is with Lane County Health and Human Services.</p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 19:20:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 586 at http://klcc.org Oregon's Health Insurance Exchange Hits Glitches http://klcc.org/post/oregons-health-insurance-exchange-hits-glitches <p>Oregon&#39;s new health insurance marketplace-- part of the Affordable Care Act-- has run into some glitches on its launch day. <a href="http://www.coveroregon.com">Cover Oregon</a>&#39;s online system is not functioning properly.</p><p>Cover Oregon is not correctly determining eligibility for tax credits, the Oregon Health Plan and Healthy Kids. The problem is expected to be fixed in a couple of weeks. Jason Davis with Lane County Health and Human Services says it&#39;s possible to get health coverage, just not through the website.</p> Tue, 01 Oct 2013 18:53:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 585 at http://klcc.org Oregon's Health Insurance Exchange Hits Glitches Cover Oregon Launches October First http://klcc.org/post/cover-oregon-launches-october-first <p>On Tuesday, October 1st, Oregon launches its health insurance exchange program-- a key piece of President Obama&#39;s health care overhaul. It&#39;s called <a href="http://www.coveroregon.com">Cover Oregon</a>.</p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 17:02:15 +0000 Rachael McDonald 395 at http://klcc.org Cover Oregon Launches October First Oregon Capitol Building Turns 75 Years Old http://klcc.org/post/oregon-capitol-building-turns-75-years-old <p>You&#39;ve seen those safety posters marking so many days since a workplace injury. Oregon&#39;s state capitol building could have one that says &quot;75 years without burning to the ground!&quot; The original two went up in flames. Now, a series of events scheduled next week will mark the 75th anniversary of Oregon&#39;s third and longest standing state capitol. The celebration comes as lawmakers consider a $300 million overhaul.</p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 14:25:29 +0000 Chris Lehman 380 at http://klcc.org Oregon Capitol Building Turns 75 Years Old LCC President Mary Spilde On Low Enrollment, Budget, Special Session http://klcc.org/post/lcc-president-mary-spilde-low-enrollment-budget-special-session <p></p><p>Classes begin next week at Lane Community College. LCC President Mary Spilde talks with KLCC&#39;s Rachael McDonald about expectations for the coming year. The college is experiencing a drop in enrollment which means a possible $2 million budget deficit. But Spilde is hopeful the legislature will restore some state funding to community colleges when it meets for a special session in Salem Monday.</p><p></p> Thu, 26 Sep 2013 13:41:19 +0000 Rachael McDonald 313 at http://klcc.org LCC President Mary Spilde On Low Enrollment, Budget, Special Session White House Threatens To Veto Forest Bill http://klcc.org/post/white-house-threatens-veto-forest-bill <p>White house budget officials say they will advise the president to veto a logging bill the House is discussing this week.</p><p>Lawmakers from the Northwest introduced the controversial bill.</p><p>Washington representative Doc Hastings wrote half of it. His part of creates a logging quota in each national forest.</p><p>Oregon house members wrote the other half. Their section would sign over about a million acres of forests in Western Oregon to a logging trust managed by the state.</p> Thu, 19 Sep 2013 13:45:07 +0000 Rachael McDonald 148 at http://klcc.org White House Threatens To Veto Forest Bill