City of Eugene http://klcc.org en Eugene City Council Gets An Earful Of Comments On Proposed Sick Leave Ordinance http://klcc.org/post/eugene-city-council-gets-earful-comments-proposed-sick-leave-ordinance <p>An overwhelming number of people attended the Eugene City Council's public comment hearing Monday night. Citizens packed Harris Hall to voice their concerns, support, or opposition to the proposed sick leave ordinance.</p><p>About 60 people commented on the proposed sick leave ordinance. Lindy Moore heads the Emerald Executive Association and opposes the ordinance.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 07:39:25 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 17924 at http://klcc.org Eugene City Council Gets An Earful Of Comments On Proposed Sick Leave Ordinance Monday Could Be Pivotal for Eugene's Sick Leave Ordinance http://klcc.org/post/monday-could-be-pivotal-eugenes-sick-leave-ordinance <p>Lane County residents might be tempted to call in sick to work Monday to get to two important public hearings. Both of them have to do with Eugene's proposed <a href="http://www.eugene-or.gov/sickleave">sick leave ordinance</a>. The public is invited to comment on three <a href="http://www.lanecounty.org/Departments/BCC/Pages/default.aspx">Lane County</a> ordinances put forward in reaction to Eugene's efforts. The first exempts the county from Eugene's ordinance. The second exempts other cities in Lane County. The third actually prohibits municipalities from passing labor laws. Sun, 20 Jul 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Rachael McDonald 17679 at http://klcc.org Monday Could Be Pivotal for Eugene's Sick Leave Ordinance Eugene's Sick Leave Proposal Draws Opposition http://klcc.org/post/eugenes-sick-leave-proposal-draws-opposition <p>Eugene is looking to follow in the footsteps of Portland and Seattle with a sick leave ordinance. It would require employers to provide paid sick time to their workers within city limits. This endeavor has been welcomed by many low-wage workers and their advocates and met with dismay by many employers. The Lane County Board of Commissioners is trying to sideline the effort.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Jul 2014 14:48:18 +0000 Rachael McDonald 17652 at http://klcc.org Eugene's Sick Leave Proposal Draws Opposition Eugene Mayor Pursues Sick-Leave Despite County Opposition http://klcc.org/post/eugene-mayor-pursues-sick-leave-despite-county-opposition <p>Tuesday, the Lane County Board of Commissioners moved to stymie the City of Eugene's<a href="http://www.eugene-or.gov/sickleave"> sick leave ordinance</a> before it's passed. It's unclear what effect the county's actions will have.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:09:37 +0000 Rachael McDonald 17135 at http://klcc.org Eugene Mayor Pursues Sick-Leave Despite County Opposition Lane County May Hinder Eugene's Sick Leave Ordinance http://klcc.org/post/lane-county-may-hinder-eugenes-sick-leave-ordinance <p>Lane County may throw a wrench in the City of Eugene's efforts to pass a sick leave ordinance.<br /><br />The Board of County Commissioners Tuesday&nbsp; moved forward on their own ordinance that exempts Lane County from the city's sick leave. It may also exempt any business outside Eugene and restrict the ability of other cities in Lane County from passing similar sick leave rules. Board Chair Pat Farr says there are a lot of unanswered questions about how the city's ordinance would affect county government and private businesses outside Eugene.</p><p></p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:56:04 +0000 Rachael McDonald 17084 at http://klcc.org Lane County May Hinder Eugene's Sick Leave Ordinance Eugene Parks Closing Restrooms http://klcc.org/post/eugene-parks-closing-restrooms <p>Visitors to Eugene's Parks will see taller, browner grass and have fewer places to go to the bathroom. That's because the city's new budget includes a $300,000 reduction in funding for the <a href="http://www.eugene-or.gov/index.aspx?NID=185">Parks and Open Space Division</a>.</p><p></p><p></p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 19:02:05 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16577 at http://klcc.org Eugene Parks Closing Restrooms Eugene Limits Fireworks http://klcc.org/post/eugene-limits-fireworks <p>The Eugene City Council Monday approved restrictions on fireworks.</p><p></p> Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:42:36 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16178 at http://klcc.org Eugene Limits Fireworks Eugene Public Library to Reduce Sunday Hours http://klcc.org/post/eugene-public-library-reduce-sunday-hours <p>No more browsing at the Eugene Public Library on Sunday mornings.<br /><br />Beginning July 6th, the library is cutting Sunday hours. It will be open from 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. It currently opens at 10:00 a.m.</p><p><br />This is one of the ways the City of Eugene is trying to save money and have a balanced budget for the upcoming fiscal year.</p><p>Under the new budget, the Bethel Branch will remain open, Sheldon will stay open for one year while options for funding are explored, and the downtown library will be open three fewer hours on Sundays.</p> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 02:59:44 +0000 Angela Kellner 15494 at http://klcc.org Eugene Public Library to Reduce Sunday Hours Eugene City Manager Presents Budget http://klcc.org/post/eugene-city-manager-presents-budget <p></p><p><br />&nbsp;</p><p></p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 18:53:54 +0000 Rachael McDonald 12747 at http://klcc.org Eugene City Manager Presents Budget Wastewater Fees Could Get a Boost http://klcc.org/post/wastewater-fees-could-get-boost <p>Eugene and Springfield residents could see a boost in their monthly utility fee for wastewater.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 19:31:05 +0000 Rachael McDonald 12677 at http://klcc.org