homelessness http://klcc.org en Group Plans Permanent "Village" For Homeless People http://klcc.org/post/group-plans-permanent-village-homeless-people <p>The folks who created <a href="http://www.opportunityvillageeugene.org/">Opportunity Village Eugene</a>, a pilot project that gives short-term shelter to people without homes, are now looking to branch out.&nbsp; "Emerald Village" would provide long term housing at an affordable price.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 30 May 2014 18:12:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald 14679 at http://klcc.org Group Plans Permanent "Village" For Homeless People Homeless Man Pens Screenplay About Living In A Shelter http://klcc.org/post/homeless-man-pens-screenplay-about-living-shelter <p></p><p>55-year-old John Baker has been homeless on and off for the past 5 years. While at a homeless shelter in Aspen, Colorado, he wrote a sitcom screenplay called "The Homeless Bums of Aspen." He spoke with KLCC's Angela Kellner about submitting the screenplay to NBC during their open call for sitcoms.</p><p></p><p>John Baker's <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQI41LIa8ZA">song, "The Homeless Bums of Aspen" is on You Tube</a>.</p> Fri, 23 May 2014 02:56:00 +0000 Angela Kellner 14197 at http://klcc.org Homeless Man Pens Screenplay About Living In A Shelter Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower http://klcc.org/post/tally-shows-total-number-homeless-lane-county-lower <p>In 2013, about 10,000 people in Lane County experienced homelessness.&nbsp; Although high, Lane County Human Services says this is an improvement from the previous year. &nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 07 May 2014 01:55:15 +0000 Jes Burns 13160 at http://klcc.org Tally Shows Total Number Of Homeless In Lane County Lower Youngster Challenges City Officials To Sleep Outside With Him For Two Nights http://klcc.org/post/youngster-challenges-city-officials-sleep-outside-him-two-nights <p>An unexpected voice has come forward advocating for the homeless in Eugene. 10 year old cancer survivor Keegan Keppner has spent the last 4 months trying to change the way people treat those with no place to sleep. He's met with legislators and Governor John Kitzhaber. Now, Keegan is challenging members of the Eugene City Council to join him for a "sleepover" of sorts. KLCC's Tiffany Eckert spoke with the youngster about his unique proposal.</p><p>Keegan: "I'm gonna got to Mr. Ruiz…uh…where is he at dad?"</p><p></p> Sat, 19 Apr 2014 01:49:02 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 12023 at http://klcc.org Youngster Challenges City Officials To Sleep Outside With Him For Two Nights Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/anonymous-donor-gives-400000-homeless-camp-eugene <p>An anonymous donor from Eugene has stepped forward with $400,000 to purchase property for a homeless camp in the city.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:37:40 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11921 at http://klcc.org Anonymous Donor Gives $400,000 for Homeless Camp in Eugene Rest Stops Provide Community http://klcc.org/post/rest-stops-provide-community <p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 13:31:58 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11903 at http://klcc.org Rest Stops Provide Community Eugene Shuts Down Whoville http://klcc.org/post/eugene-shuts-down-whoville <p></p><p>Eugene Police surrounded an illegal homeless camp known as Whoville Friday morning and told the 30 or so residents to pack up and go. The City Council gave an April 15th deadline for the site to close.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:06:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald & Karen Richards 11146 at http://klcc.org Eugene Shuts Down Whoville New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium http://klcc.org/post/new-homeless-rest-stop-approved-near-autzen-stadium <p>The Eugene City Council voted to open another homeless rest stop at a work session Monday evening.&nbsp; The move comes after residents of the illegal homeless camp known as Whoville objected to a previously-approved site near the Whiteaker.<br /> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 03:04:35 +0000 Jes Burns 9563 at http://klcc.org New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close http://klcc.org/post/whoville-homeless-camp-must-close <p>In a work session today (Wednesday) the Eugene City Council voted to shut down the homeless camp known as Whoville. The motion includes opening an alternate location in West Eugene.</p><p>Eugene City Manager John Ruiz moved that Whoville, currently located at Broadway and Hilyard, be closed by no later than April 1<sup>st</sup>. Ruiz also recommended authorizing a second "rest stop" at the Northwest Expressway location.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 01:24:16 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 8928 at http://klcc.org Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot http://klcc.org/post/eugene-council-extends-sunset-date-overnight-camping-pilot <p>The Eugene City Council voted Monday night to extend the pilot rest stop program, designed to provide the city’s homeless with temporary shelter on city-owned property.</p><p></p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 05:46:28 +0000 Jes Burns 8785 at http://klcc.org Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot