Northwest News Network http://klcc.org en Power Outages Persist In Fire-Swept North Central Washington http://klcc.org/post/power-outages-persist-fire-swept-north-central-washington <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072814AJ_PowerRestoration_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The lights are coming back on in fire-swept north central Washington. A major transmission line <a href="http://www.okanoganelectriccoop.com/">was restored late last week</a>, but not everyone has their power back.<p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 23:48:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18358 at http://klcc.org Power Outages Persist In Fire-Swept North Central Washington Penalties On Idaho Mine Still Unpaid Three Years After Miner's Death http://klcc.org/post/penalties-idaho-mine-still-unpaid-three-years-after-miners-death <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/0702814JR_UnpaidFines_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's been over three years since a tunnel collapse at a north Idaho silver mine killed miner Larry Marek. Yet federal records show a series of federal penalties issued to the mine's owners still have not been paid.<p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 22:37:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 18355 at http://klcc.org Penalties On Idaho Mine Still Unpaid Three Years After Miner's Death Oregon Ponders Smoking Ban At All Beaches http://klcc.org/post/oregon-ponders-smoking-ban-all-beaches <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/smoking.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Oregon could become the first West Coast state to ban smoking on all of its beaches. The Oregon State Parks Department is seeking public input on the proposal.<p> Sat, 26 Jul 2014 00:51:00 +0000 Chris Lehman 18209 at http://klcc.org Oregon Ponders Smoking Ban At All Beaches USGS Tries Listening To Human Racket To Understand Seismic Hazards http://klcc.org/post/usgs-tries-listening-human-racket-understand-seismic-hazards <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/usgs.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Research geologists have just finished a field trial to test a less invasive way to complete seismic hazard surveys.<p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:45:00 +0000 Tom Banse 18206 at http://klcc.org USGS Tries Listening To Human Racket To Understand Seismic Hazards Northwest Meth Houses To Get Scrubbed Under EPA Program http://klcc.org/post/northwest-meth-houses-get-scrubbed-under-epa-program <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/meth.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Federal dollars meant to restore toxic areas like old factories, mines and gas stations are now going to clean up after another long-time industry: methamphetamine.<p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:31:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 18207 at http://klcc.org Northwest Meth Houses To Get Scrubbed Under EPA Program Washington Vied For Tesla ‘Gigafactory’ Worth Thousands Of Jobs http://klcc.org/post/washington-vied-tesla-gigafactory-worth-thousands-jobs <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/20140725tesla_2.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Washington Governor Jay </span>Inslee<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> tried to woo electric </span>carmaker<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Tesla Motors to build a massive battery factory in the Evergreen state. But according to at least one report, the company&#160;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">may have already broken ground near Reno, Nevada.</span><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:13:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 18174 at http://klcc.org Washington Vied For Tesla ‘Gigafactory’ Worth Thousands Of Jobs Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught http://klcc.org/post/alaska-air-says-its-holding-its-own-against-delta-onslaught <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/20140724airlines.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The intensifying competition between Alaska Airlines and rival Delta Air Lines in the Western skies does not seem to be hurting the bottom line of either company.</span><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 00:25:00 +0000 Tom Banse 18152 at http://klcc.org Alaska Air Says It's Holding Its Own Against Delta Onslaught Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners http://klcc.org/post/feds-offer-wildfire-assistance-so-far-no-payments-homeowners <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072414CL_wildfireassistance_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Federal funds are being used to help fight the wildfires that have raged across the Northwest this summer. But so far, the Federal Emergency Management Agency isn't handing out money directly to owners of the nearly 200 homes lost in the blazes.</span><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 23:24:00 +0000 Chris Lehman 18151 at http://klcc.org Feds Offer Wildfire Assistance, But So Far No Payments To Homeowners Oregon County Turns Public Health Function Over To State http://klcc.org/post/oregon-county-turns-public-health-function-over-state <a href="/failed%20Limelight" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Counties across the Northwest that are heavily dependent on timber revenue from federal lands have been struggling to provide public health services.<p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 00:34:00 +0000 Chris Lehman 18076 at http://klcc.org Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation http://klcc.org/post/donors-pay-test-seawater-traces-fukushima-radiation <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072314TB_SeaTest_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>It's been more than three years since the Fukushima nuclear plant accident resulted in a spill of millions of gallons of radioactive cooling water into the Pacific. Oceanographers projected that it could take until this year for highly diluted traces of that spill in Japan to reach the West Coast of North America.<p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 23:47:00 +0000 Tom Banse 18075 at http://klcc.org Donors Pay To Test Seawater For Traces Of Fukushima Radiation