Northwest News Network http://klcc.org en Fire Evacuees Find Help With Donation Centers, Shelters http://klcc.org/post/fire-evacuees-find-help-donation-centers-shelters <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CF_FireShelters_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The Okanogan County Sheriff’s Department ordered more homeowners to evacuate Monday afternoon. These newest evacuations came after firefighters saw a brief relief from high winds and hot weather Sunday.<p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:02:00 +0000 Courtney Flatt 17952 at http://klcc.org Fire Evacuees Find Help With Donation Centers, Shelters Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance http://klcc.org/post/wildfire-season-starts-early-and-vengeance <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CL_wildfireseason_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>So far, more than 150 homes in Washington state have been destroyed in what veteran firefighters are calling the worst fire season in decades.&#160;<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 23:26:00 +0000 Chris Lehman 17922 at http://klcc.org Wildfire Season Starts Early And With A Vengeance Judge Sides Again With Washington Foster Youth http://klcc.org/post/judge-sides-again-washington-foster-youth <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114AJ_FosterKids_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>A judge in Bellingham Monday ordered the state of Washington to do more to locate foster children who run away.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:59:00 +0000 Austin Jenkins 17919 at http://klcc.org Washington Fire Leaves Thousands Without AC, Gas, ATMs http://klcc.org/post/washington-fire-leaves-thousands-without-ac-gas-atms <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CF_FirePower_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The <a href="http://inciweb.nwcg.gov/incident/3967/">Carlton Complex fire</a>, the most destructive wildfire currently burning in the Northwest, has left thousands of people without air conditioning and refrigeration. It has closed gas stations and shut down ATMs in north-central Washington.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:37:00 +0000 Courtney Flatt 17920 at http://klcc.org Washington Fire Leaves Thousands Without AC, Gas, ATMs Wildfire Town Meeting Grows Tense Over Missed Evacuation Notices http://klcc.org/post/wildfire-town-meeting-grows-tense-over-missed-evacuation-notices <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072114CF_FireMeeting_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>In north-central Washington, fire crews aided by cooler temperatures and calmer winds are going on the offensive against several sprawling wildfires. Incident commanders of the region’s biggest and most destructive wildfire briefed residents in Omak and Brewster Sunday night. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 17:28:00 +0000 Courtney Flatt 17882 at http://klcc.org Wildfire Town Meeting Grows Tense Over Missed Evacuation Notices Former Oregon Governor Vic Atiyeh Dead At 91 http://klcc.org/post/former-oregon-governor-vic-atiyeh-dead-91 <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/072014CL_atiyehobitfeature_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Former Oregon Governor Vic Atiyeh has died. The 91-year-old passed away Sunday evening at Portland's Providence St. Vincent Medical Center of complications from renal failure.<p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:58:00 +0000 Chris Lehman 17877 at http://klcc.org Former Oregon Governor Vic Atiyeh Dead At 91 Okanogan County Residents Look For Remnants Of Lives In Burned Homes http://klcc.org/post/okanogan-county-residents-look-remnants-lives-burned-homes <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071914JR_Rubble_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Residents of fire-ravaged central Washington say they're in a “state of shock.” Fires destroyed more houses over the weekend and prompted additional evacuation notices.<p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 04:08:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 17818 at http://klcc.org Okanogan County Residents Look For Remnants Of Lives In Burned Homes Wildfires Force Northwest Fruit Pickers Out Of Camps http://klcc.org/post/wildfires-force-northwest-fruit-pickers-out-camps <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071914JR_MigrantEvacuees_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>Fire officials estimate wildfires have burned more than 1,200 square miles in Washington and Oregon. Crews are working fast to build fire lines between the rapidly moving flames and rural communities. But hundreds of people remain on evacuation alert.<p> Sun, 20 Jul 2014 03:55:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 17819 at http://klcc.org Wildfires Force Northwest Fruit Pickers Out Of Camps Pateros Residents Try To Make Sense Of Destruction Left By Wildfire http://klcc.org/post/pateros-residents-try-make-sense-destruction-left-wildfire <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071914JR_CarltonSpotFIXED_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>The wildfires burning in central Washington prompted another round of evacuations Friday night. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 05:54:00 +0000 Jessica Robinson 17779 at http://klcc.org Pateros Residents Try To Make Sense Of Destruction Left By Wildfire Washington Governor Asks For Cooperation With Fire Evacuation Requests http://klcc.org/post/washington-governor-asks-cooperation-fire-evacuation-requests <a href="http://cpa.ds.npr.org/northwestnews/audio/2014/07/071814TB_Inslee2_web.mp3" class="asset-audio"></a><p>More than a dozen wildfires in eastern Washington and eastern Oregon continue to threaten homes and cause numerous road closures. Washington Governor Jay Inslee Friday asked residents near those fires to heed evacuation notices when issued.<p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 00:53:00 +0000 Tom Banse 17775 at http://klcc.org Washington Governor Asks For Cooperation With Fire Evacuation Requests