Eugene City Council http://klcc.org en Deadline Extended For Civic Stadium Fundraising http://klcc.org/post/deadline-extended-civic-stadium-fundraising <p>The effort to save historic civic stadium in Eugene continues. Yesterday (Wednesday) supporters were given an extension to raise money to renovate the dilapidated ball park.</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 00:19:30 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 17706 at http://klcc.org Deadline Extended For Civic Stadium Fundraising Eugene Mayor Breaks Tie To Test Bike-Friendly Layout of South Willamette Street http://klcc.org/post/eugene-mayor-breaks-tie-test-bike-friendly-layout-south-willamette-street <p></p><p></p><p>Eugene Mayor Kitty Piercy broke the tie on the city council to approve a motion to test a more bike-friendly plan for a 5-block stretch of South Willamette Street.</p> Wed, 28 May 2014 03:45:31 +0000 Angela Kellner 14490 at http://klcc.org Eugene Mayor Breaks Tie To Test Bike-Friendly Layout of South Willamette Street New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium http://klcc.org/post/new-homeless-rest-stop-approved-near-autzen-stadium <p>The Eugene City Council voted to open another homeless rest stop at a work session Monday evening.&nbsp; The move comes after residents of the illegal homeless camp known as Whoville objected to a previously-approved site near the Whiteaker.<br /> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 03:04:35 +0000 Jes Burns 9563 at http://klcc.org New Homeless Rest Stop Approved Near Autzen Stadium Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close http://klcc.org/post/whoville-homeless-camp-must-close <p>In a work session today (Wednesday) the Eugene City Council voted to shut down the homeless camp known as Whoville. The motion includes opening an alternate location in West Eugene.</p><p>Eugene City Manager John Ruiz moved that Whoville, currently located at Broadway and Hilyard, be closed by no later than April 1<sup>st</sup>. Ruiz also recommended authorizing a second "rest stop" at the Northwest Expressway location.</p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 01:24:16 +0000 Tiffany Eckert 8928 at http://klcc.org Whoville Homeless Camp Must Close Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot http://klcc.org/post/eugene-council-extends-sunset-date-overnight-camping-pilot <p>The Eugene City Council voted Monday night to extend the pilot rest stop program, designed to provide the city’s homeless with temporary shelter on city-owned property.</p><p></p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 05:46:28 +0000 Jes Burns 8785 at http://klcc.org Eugene Council Extends Sunset Date On Overnight Camping Pilot Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House http://klcc.org/post/whoville-coalition-hold-open-house <p>The Whoville coalition will hold an open house Saturday. Its intention is to bring awareness to the urgency of finding a new site for residents. Nathan Showers, known as "Red", is one of Whoville's counselors and managers. He says he hopes the open house will give an inside look into how the establishment operates.</p><p>Red: "It's just to let everybody come together and see Whoville people and how we interact together in a group and our living situation. So, you can see how well we do get along and coincide together."</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 19:26:03 +0000 Amanda Butt 8618 at http://klcc.org Whoville Coalition To Hold Open House Zelenka To Seek Re-Election In May http://klcc.org/post/zelenka-seek-re-election-may <p>Eugene City Councilor Alan Zelenka announced Saturday he will seek another term to represent Ward 3 in the upcoming May election.</p> Sun, 26 Jan 2014 17:48:45 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 7069 at http://klcc.org Zelenka To Seek Re-Election In May Eugene City Council Tweaks Civic Stadium Offer http://klcc.org/post/eugene-city-council-tweaks-civic-stadium-offer <p></p> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 02:53:53 +0000 Angela Kellner 6863 at http://klcc.org Eugene City Council Tweaks Civic Stadium Offer Volunteer Groups Ready To Manage Campsites For The Homeless http://klcc.org/post/volunteer-groups-ready-manage-campsites-homeless <p>Monday night, the Eugene City Council approved two locations for homeless people to pitch their tents. Although the city has some work to do first, volunteer organizations say they are ready to go.</p><p>The council voted 6 to 2 to allow campsites on Chambers Street at Northwest Expressway and Roosevelt Boulevard near Garfield. Michael Wisth is with the City of Eugene.</p><p></p> Tue, 29 Oct 2013 23:49:11 +0000 Karen Richards 2107 at http://klcc.org Volunteer Groups Ready To Manage Campsites For The Homeless City Of Eugene To Host Meetings Addressing Budget Problems http://klcc.org/post/city-eugene-host-meetings-addressing-budget-problems <p>The City of Eugene is facing a multi-million dollar gap in its budget, so it&#39;s asking residents&#39; help to shape a solution. A series of community meetings starting this week are being held at local high schools to discuss the situation.</p><p></p><p>Last year, Eugene voters defeated a City service fee. To balance the budget, funds were transferred from its Reserve account. But, that fix was only supposed to fill the gap for one year. City Councilor Claire Syrett says if they are not able to find some new solutions, they might be back in the same position as last year.</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 13:35:00 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 1103 at http://klcc.org City Of Eugene To Host Meetings Addressing Budget Problems