Oregon legislature http://klcc.org en Cedric Hayden Wins District 7 House Race http://klcc.org/post/cedric-hayden-wins-district-7-house-race <p>A first time candidate won the race to represent District 7 in the Oregon House of Representatives. Cedric Hayden of Fall Creek beat former Cottage Grove Mayor Gary Williams in the Republican primary. District 7 includes parts of Lane and Douglas Counties. No Democrat ran in the primary.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 21 May 2014 19:50:16 +0000 Rachael McDonald 14097 at http://klcc.org Cedric Hayden Wins District 7 House Race State Representative Caddy McKeown Will Host Town Halls http://klcc.org/post/state-representative-caddy-mckeown-will-host-town-halls <p>State Representative Caddy McKeown from House District 9 will host the first of three town hall meetings on Saturday at Coos Bay Town Hall. She will discuss the 2014 legislative session. She hopes to collect feedback and answer questions from community members. The meeting takes place tomorrow from 3:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m. Details on the three meetings are as follows:</p><p>Coos Bay Town Hall<br />Saturday, March 29, 2014<br />3:00-4:30 p.m.<br />Coos Bay Fire Station<br />450 Elrod Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 19:32:33 +0000 Amanda Butt 10705 at http://klcc.org State Representative Caddy McKeown Will Host Town Halls Annual Sessions: Are They Working? http://klcc.org/post/annual-sessions-are-they-working <p></p><p></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 14:14:34 +0000 Chris Lehman 9510 at http://klcc.org Annual Sessions: Are They Working? Oregon's 2014 Legislative Session Winding Down http://klcc.org/post/oregons-2014-legislative-session-winding-down <p>Oregon's 2014 legislative session, which started 5 weeks ago, is almost over. Lawmakers are wrapping up loose ends in order to finish by Sunday, or sooner. KLCC's Angela Kellner spoke with Salem Correspondent about last-minute political deals and the upcoming filing deadline for the May primary.</p><p></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 02:53:10 +0000 Angela Kellner 9361 at http://klcc.org Oregon's 2014 Legislative Session Winding Down Oregon Legislature Faces March 9th Deadline To Wrap Up Session http://klcc.org/post/oregon-legislature-faces-march-9th-deadline-wrap-session <p> The Oregon Legislature must wrap up the current session no later than March 9. To get an update on what the Oregon House and Senate are still working on, KLCC's Angela Kellner spoke with our <a href="http://nwnewsnetwork.org/people/chris-lehman">Salem Correspondent Chris Lehman.</a></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 04:45:44 +0000 Angela Kellner 8992 at http://klcc.org Oregon Legislature Faces March 9th Deadline To Wrap Up Session Oregon Considers Measure To Limit E-Cigarette Access http://klcc.org/post/oregon-considers-measure-limit-e-cigarette-access-0 <p></p><p></p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 15:34:26 +0000 Chris Lehman 7948 at http://klcc.org Oregon Considers Measure To Limit E-Cigarette Access Oregon Schools Receive $8.9-million For Vocational and Technical Programs http://klcc.org/post/oregon-schools-receive-89-million-vocational-and-technical-programs <p>Nearly $9-million in grant money will be distributed to 140 Oregon schools for career and technical training.</p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 22:23:01 +0000 Angela Kellner 6042 at http://klcc.org Oregon Schools Receive $8.9-million For Vocational and Technical Programs Oregon Dog Tethering Law Takes Effect in January http://klcc.org/post/oregon-dog-tethering-law-takes-effect-january <p>Oregon canines will be howling an unchained melody starting in January. That's when a new law takes effect that makes it illegal to tie up your dog too long. One volunteer organization is helping dog owners avoid the upcoming penalties by building fences to give dogs room to roam.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 14:46:10 +0000 Chris Lehman 5058 at http://klcc.org Oregon Dog Tethering Law Takes Effect in January Oregon State Fair To Be Managed By New Council http://klcc.org/post/oregon-state-fair-be-managed-new-council <p>Starting next summer, the Oregon State Fair will be run by a new 11-member council. It's the first step following legislation passed earlier this year to transition the Fair and Exposition Center to a public corporation.</p> Fri, 13 Dec 2013 23:13:48 +0000 Karen Richards 4744 at http://klcc.org Oregon State Fair To Be Managed By New Council "Grand Bargain" Passes Oregon Legislature http://klcc.org/post/grand-bargain-passes-oregon-legislature <p>The so-called &quot;Grand Bargain&quot; has passed in Salem. Oregon lawmakers have approved all five of the bills on their special session agenda. The package includes targeted tax hikes and tax breaks, as well as cuts to pensions for some retired public employees.</p><p>Many of the bills passed with very narrow margins. And some lawmakers who voted for the measures said they were doing so against their better judgment. Here&#39;s Republican representative Sal Esquivel.</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 02:41:53 +0000 Chris Lehman 677 at http://klcc.org "Grand Bargain" Passes Oregon Legislature