NPR Music http://klcc.org en The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' http://klcc.org/post/raveonettes-killer-streets <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IOWjLfyRoQY</p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 18022 at http://klcc.org The Raveonettes, 'Killer In The Streets' Jenny Lewis Stands Out With 'Voyager' http://klcc.org/post/jenny-lewis-stands-out-voyager All Songs Considered features "The Voyager," the new album from Jenny Lewis, a singer known for complicated, emotional lyrics and vivid storytelling. It's part of NPR Music's "First Listen" series. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 08:45:00 +0000 Bob Boilen 18002 at http://klcc.org D.C. Washington's Voice Shines On The Diamond In Nation's Capital http://klcc.org/post/dc-washingtons-voice-shines-diamond-nations-capital During a recent visit to a Washington Nationals game, Robert Siegel was struck by the singer of the national anthem — by both his smooth baritone and his curiously apt name: D.C. Washington. So, he invited Washington into the studio for a conversation and a few songs. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:23:00 +0000 editor 17987 at http://klcc.org Tree Planted To Honor Beatle Is Killed By Beetles http://klcc.org/post/tree-planted-honor-beatle-killed-beetles Flowers may grow so incredibly high, as the Beatles once sang, but trees — not so much.<p>Actually, a pine tree planted in Los Angeles a decade ago to honor former Beatle George Harrison reached a height of 12 feet before succumbing recently.<p>To an infestation. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:43:00 +0000 editor 17970 at http://klcc.org Tree Planted To Honor Beatle Is Killed By Beetles Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today http://klcc.org/post/inside-sun-records-sound-marvel-even-today For more conversations with music makers, check out NPR's <a href="http://www.npr.org/sections/music-interviews/" target="_blank">Music Interviews</a>. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 editor 17971 at http://klcc.org Inside The Sun Records Sound, A Marvel Even Today America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://klcc.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 17950 at http://klcc.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto http://klcc.org/post/new-mix-rentals-perfume-genius-bots-zammuto We kick off this week's episode of <em>All Songs Considered</em> with the sludgy, shoegaze-y sounds of Whirr, a band started by Nick Bassett, bassist for one of co-host Robin Hilton's favorite acts of 2014, Nothing. We follow up with a new track from <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/239718803/the-bots">The Bots</a>, two young brothers from L.A. whose "All I Really Want" is a two-minute sugar rush of high-powered pop-punk.<p>Later on the show we welcome NPR Music's Daoud Tyler–Ameen and Jacob Ganz to the studio to play some of their favorite new tunes. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 editor 17949 at http://klcc.org New Mix: The Rentals, Perfume Genius, The Bots, Zammuto Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://klcc.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/14953534/ryan-adams">Ryan Adams</a> used to be the picture of ramshackle prolificacy — a man with <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15394157/prince">Prince</a>'s desire to flood the market with product, not to mention an equally slippery grip on the quality-control lever. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:48:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 17951 at http://klcc.org Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 Song Premiere: Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate), 'A Keepsake' http://klcc.org/post/song-premiere-empire-empire-i-was-lonely-estate-keepsake If emo has cheerleaders, they're Keith and Cathy Latinen. Since 2007, the Michigan-based husband and wife have tirelessly run the <a href="http://countyourluckystars.bandcamp.com/" target="_blank">Count Your Lucky Stars</a> label during a time when the genre didn't have many vocal supporters. Many of its releases have inspired bands in the now-thriving young scene to take up the '90s Midwest emo sound and do what they will.<p>The Latinens are also behind the complicatedly named Empire! Empire! Tue, 22 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Lars Gotrich 17946 at http://klcc.org Song Premiere: Empire! Empire! (I Was A Lonely Estate), 'A Keepsake' Ben Watt On World Cafe http://klcc.org/post/ben-watt-world-cafe <em>World Cafe</em>'s guest today is <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=ben+watt">Ben Watt</a> from Everything But The Girl, the band he led with his partner (now wife) <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=tracey+thorn">Tracey Thorn</a> in the '80s and '90s. He has a new solo album called <em>Hendra</em>, which he recorded with Suede guitarist Bernard Butler.<p>Watt has had a fascinating career; he turned to underground DJing as Everything But The Girl disbanded, prompting him to eventually form his own house-music label. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:46:00 +0000 editor 17942 at http://klcc.org Ben Watt On World Cafe