bees http://klcc.org en Oregon Country Fair - Wild Edibles And A Living Beehive http://klcc.org/post/oregon-country-fair-wild-edibles-and-living-beehive <p>Oregon Country Fair's Community Village is a collection of booths providing information about social issues.</p><p>Tucked away is a booth called Wild Edibles. Here people can learn about natural foliage that can be consumed or used as medicine. There's also a small section dedicated to a vital component to wild edible plants: Bees.</p><p>KLCC's Desmond O'Boyle took some time to visit the Fair's only living bee hive and found some women bringing attention to saving the bees.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>copyright, 2014 KLCC</p> Sat, 12 Jul 2014 02:35:55 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 17333 at http://klcc.org Oregon Country Fair - Wild Edibles And A Living Beehive Oregon Places Temporary Ban On Bee-Killing Pesticides http://klcc.org/post/oregon-places-temporary-ban-bee-killing-pesticides <p>After bee die-offs this month in Eugene and Beaverton, the <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/oda/Pages/index.aspx">Oregon Agriculture Department </a>is placing a 6 month ban on pesticides containing two active ingredients that are dangerous to the insects.&nbsp;</p><p><br />&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:06:41 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16427 at http://klcc.org Oregon Places Temporary Ban On Bee-Killing Pesticides "Bee Friendly" Plants Can Be Poisonous To Pollinators http://klcc.org/post/bee-friendly-plants-can-be-poisonous-pollinators <p>A national report released Wednesday finds that half of the plants sold at major retailers as "bee friendly" are actually poisonous to bees. The plants are pre-treated with pesticides that are harmful to pollinators according to the study by <a href="http://www.foe.org/beeaction">Friends of the Earth</a>.</p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 20:18:30 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16276 at http://klcc.org "Bee Friendly" Plants Can Be Poisonous To Pollinators Eugene Company's License Suspended Following Bee Deaths http://klcc.org/post/eugene-companys-license-suspended-following-bee-deaths <p></p><p>The Oregon Department of Agriculture has suspended the license of the company responsible for more than 1,000 bee deaths earlier this week in Eugene. Glass Tree Care and Spray Service applied pesticides at an apartment complex in North Eugene on 17 linden trees, the same types of trees involved in thousands of bee deaths last year in Oregon. Bruce Pokarney is the Communication Director for the ODA. He says before the company can resume applying pesticides they must adhere to certain conditions.</p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 00:01:55 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 16000 at http://klcc.org Eugene Company's License Suspended Following Bee Deaths Another Large Bee Die-off Attributed to Pesticides http://klcc.org/post/another-large-bee-die-attributed-pesticides <p>Several hundred honey bees and bumblebees died at a Eugene apartment complex Tuesday after trees on the property were sprayed with pesticides. The state is investigating.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:23:52 +0000 Rachael McDonald 15913 at http://klcc.org Another Large Bee Die-off Attributed to Pesticides Beekeeper Removes Swarm From Behind KLCC http://klcc.org/post/beekeeper-removes-swarm-behind-klcc <p></p><p></p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 20:10:39 +0000 Rachael McDonald 12754 at http://klcc.org Beekeeper Removes Swarm From Behind KLCC Beautiful Bee Photos Part of First Friday Art in Eugene http://klcc.org/post/beautiful-bee-photos-part-first-friday-art-eugene <p></p><p><br />Honeybees are in peril because of disease and pesticides. A photo contest celebrating bees will be on display during the first Friday Artwalk in Eugene Friday evening.</p> Thu, 03 Apr 2014 20:47:39 +0000 Rachael McDonald 11094 at http://klcc.org Beautiful Bee Photos Part of First Friday Art in Eugene Penalties Of $2,800 For Wilsonville Bee Deaths http://klcc.org/post/penalties-2800-wilsonville-bee-deaths <p>Penalties are in for a company implicated in the deaths of bumblebees in Oregon earlier this year. The Oregon Department of Agriculture has issued civil penalties to the pesticide company and its employees.</p><p></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:31:37 +0000 Courtney Flatt 5270 at http://klcc.org Penalties Of $2,800 For Wilsonville Bee Deaths