Oregon Department of Agriculture http://klcc.org en Study Says Many People Don't Handle Food Properly At Home http://klcc.org/post/study-says-many-people-dont-handle-food-properly-home <p>A new study says many consumers aren't handling food properly, particularly at barbecues. According to the University of California, Davis, 64% of people cooking at home didn't wash their hands before preparing a meal and 38% didn't wash their hands after handling raw chicken. The study also found many people still wash chicken before cooking it, which can cause pathogens to spread easily. Oregon Department of Agriculture Director Katy Coba says many times people don't see a connection between salmonella and their own kitchen.</p> Sat, 28 Jun 2014 16:26:01 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 16484 at http://klcc.org Study Says Many People Don't Handle Food Properly At Home Oregon Places Temporary Ban On Bee-Killing Pesticides http://klcc.org/post/oregon-places-temporary-ban-bee-killing-pesticides <p>After bee die-offs this month in Eugene and Beaverton, the <a href="http://www.oregon.gov/oda/Pages/index.aspx">Oregon Agriculture Department </a>is placing a 6 month ban on pesticides containing two active ingredients that are dangerous to the insects.&nbsp;</p><p><br />&nbsp;</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 17:06:41 +0000 Rachael McDonald 16427 at http://klcc.org Oregon Places Temporary Ban On Bee-Killing Pesticides Eugene Company's License Suspended Following Bee Deaths http://klcc.org/post/eugene-companys-license-suspended-following-bee-deaths <p></p><p>The Oregon Department of Agriculture has suspended the license of the company responsible for more than 1,000 bee deaths earlier this week in Eugene. Glass Tree Care and Spray Service applied pesticides at an apartment complex in North Eugene on 17 linden trees, the same types of trees involved in thousands of bee deaths last year in Oregon. Bruce Pokarney is the Communication Director for the ODA. He says before the company can resume applying pesticides they must adhere to certain conditions.</p> Sat, 21 Jun 2014 00:01:55 +0000 Desmond O'Boyle 16000 at http://klcc.org Eugene Company's License Suspended Following Bee Deaths Another Large Bee Die-off Attributed to Pesticides http://klcc.org/post/another-large-bee-die-attributed-pesticides <p>Several hundred honey bees and bumblebees died at a Eugene apartment complex Tuesday after trees on the property were sprayed with pesticides. The state is investigating.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:23:52 +0000 Rachael McDonald 15913 at http://klcc.org Another Large Bee Die-off Attributed to Pesticides Lane County Horse Dies of Equine Herpes http://klcc.org/post/lane-county-horse-dies-equine-herpes <p></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 17:30:10 +0000 Rachael McDonald 9604 at http://klcc.org Lane County Horse Dies of Equine Herpes Oregon Farmers Can Help Threatened Bird http://klcc.org/post/oregon-farmers-can-help-threatened-bird <p></p><p>The federal government is counting on Willamette Valley farmers to help the recovery of a threatened bird. This fall, the streaked horned lark was added to the endangered species list.</p><p><br />The bird prefers open habitat, which has been declining, so it's showing up on agricultural land. Typically, finding an endangered species on your land would prohibit any disturbance to the area. But in this case, an exemption will not penalize farmers who find the lark on their property.</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 01:38:18 +0000 Angela Kellner 5411 at http://klcc.org Oregon Farmers Can Help Threatened Bird Penalties Of $2,800 For Wilsonville Bee Deaths http://klcc.org/post/penalties-2800-wilsonville-bee-deaths <p>Penalties are in for a company implicated in the deaths of bumblebees in Oregon earlier this year. The Oregon Department of Agriculture has issued civil penalties to the pesticide company and its employees.</p><p></p> Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:31:37 +0000 Courtney Flatt 5270 at http://klcc.org Penalties Of $2,800 For Wilsonville Bee Deaths