KLCC http://klcc.org en After Tragedy, Nepalese Sherpas May Refuse To Climb Everest http://klcc.org/post/after-tragedy-nepalese-sherpas-may-refuse-climb-everest Last Friday's tragedy on Mount Everest in which <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/19/304935269/mount-everest-avalanche-death-toll-rises-to-13" target="_blank">at least 13 Sherpa guides were killed in an avalanche</a> has led others among that group of Nepalese who lead foreigners up the world's tallest mountain to issue some demands — and threaten to boycott the soon-to-start climbing season if their requests aren't granted.<p><a href="http://time.com/69829/everest-climbing-season-in-doubt-as-sherpas-issue-ultimatum-to-authorites/" target="_blank"><em>Time</em> reports that< Mon, 21 Apr 2014 14:35:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 12126 at http://klcc.org After Tragedy, Nepalese Sherpas May Refuse To Climb Everest Win Tin, Myanmar's Longest-Serving Political Prisoner, Dies http://klcc.org/post/win-tin-myanmars-longest-serving-political-prisoner-dies Win Tin, a former newspaper editor who became Myanmar's longest-serving political prisoner for his pro-democracy activism, has died. News reports gave his age as <a href="http://www.latimes.com/world/worldnow/la-fg-wn-win-tin-longtime-antijunta-crusader-in-myanmar-dies-at-age-85-20140421,0,7948781.story#axzz2zWeyWDs4">84</a> or <a href="http://abcnews.go.com/International/wireStory/anti-junta-myanmar-journalist-win-tin-dies-85-23402342">85</a>.<p>The Associated Press reports that he'd been hospitalized since March 12 in Yangon with respiratory problems. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:36:00 +0000 Krishnadev Calamur 12124 at http://klcc.org Win Tin, Myanmar's Longest-Serving Political Prisoner, Dies First Listen: Pixies, 'Indie Cindy' http://klcc.org/post/first-listen-pixies-indie-cindy Last year, <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/search/index.php?searchinput=my+bloody+valentine">My Bloody Valentine</a> released its first album since 1991, and the result sounded as if not a minute had passed in the intervening 22 years. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:30:00 +0000 Stephen Thompson 12123 at http://klcc.org First Listen: Pixies, 'Indie Cindy' Live Blog: The 118th Running Of The Boston Marathon http://klcc.org/post/live-blog-118th-running-boston-marathon There is no doubt the bombings of last year are casting a long shadow on the 118th running of the Boston Marathon.<p>It is an inevitable backdrop: The signs on the buildings that line the course near the finish are usually covered in witty, encouraging posters. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:29:00 +0000 editor 12125 at http://klcc.org Live Blog: The 118th Running Of The Boston Marathon Gish Jen: Art, Culture and the Interdpendent Self http://klcc.org/post/gish-jen-art-culture-and-interdpendent-self <p>The University of Oregon English Department and the Collins Fund present <em>Asian American Voices, A Collins Literary Forum</em>, bringing four authors to the UO campus in spring. The first will be Gish Jen, author of four celebrated novels, a collection of short stories and her most recent book, <em>Tiger Writing: Art, Culture and the Interdependent</em> <em>Self.</em> That book is drawn from her lectures at Harvard University in 2012. She’ll appear in the Knight Library Browsing Room on the UO campus on Monday, April 21<sup>st</sup> at 8 p.m. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eric Alan 12016 at http://klcc.org Gish Jen: Art, Culture and the Interdpendent Self Eugene's Own "Shakespears" On The Bard's 450th Birthday http://klcc.org/post/eugenes-own-shakespears-bards-450th-birthday <p>William Shakespeare is said to have been born on&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; April 23rd 450 years ago.&nbsp; Eugene is home to a family named "Shakespear" -- and they're related to the Bard!&nbsp; Intrigued by their name,&nbsp; KLCC's Claude Offenbacher spoke with two family members:&nbsp; Roosevelt Middle School 8th grader Zac, and his mother,&nbsp; Christy.</p><p></p> Mon, 21 Apr 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Claude Offenbacher 11365 at http://klcc.org Eugene's Own "Shakespears" On The Bard's 450th Birthday Teen Survives Flight To Hawaii In Jet's Wheel Well, FBI Says http://klcc.org/post/teen-survives-flight-hawaii-jets-wheel-well-fbi-says "Aviation experts call it a miracle," <a href="http://khon2.com/2014/04/20/fbi-investigating-stowaway-of-hawaiian-airlines-flight/" target="_blank">says Honolulu's KHON-TV</a>. "The FBI says a 16-year-old boy stowed away in the wheel well of a flight from California to Hawaii, and survived. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 12:47:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 12122 at http://klcc.org Teen Survives Flight To Hawaii In Jet's Wheel Well, FBI Says 'Murder,' South Korean Leader Says Of Ferry Captain's Actions http://klcc.org/post/murder-south-korean-leader-says-ferry-captains-actions "The conduct of the captain and some crew members is wholly unfathomable from the viewpoint of common sense, and it was like an act of murder that cannot and should not be tolerated."<p><a href="http://english.yonhapnews.co.kr/national/2014/04/21/33/0301000000AEN20140421004151315F.html" target="_blank">Yonhap News says</a> that was the word Monday from South Korean President Park Geun-hye as she spoke with senior aides about <a href="http://www.npr.org/tags/146267509/ferry-disaster" target="_blank">last week's ferry disaster</a>, which is feared to have killed about 300 people — most of them h Mon, 21 Apr 2014 11:56:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 12120 at http://klcc.org 'Murder,' South Korean Leader Says Of Ferry Captain's Actions Florida Proposes New Rules Regarding Alligators http://klcc.org/post/florida-proposes-new-rules-regarding-alligators A state commission proposed a ban on selling stuffed baby alligators in "unnatural positions." It's designed to discourage baby gator hunting. If passed, no more little gators waving on a surfboard. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 11:53:00 +0000 editor 12121 at http://klcc.org Miss America Asks School To Reconsider Student's Punishment http://klcc.org/post/miss-america-asks-school-reconsider-students-punishment When Miss America visited Patrick Farves high school, he asked her to the prom. She can't go, and the school punished him for asking. But she reportedly asked the school to rethink the suspension. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 11:17:00 +0000 editor 12118 at http://klcc.org