Lane County

Lane County Commissioners Tuesday voted 3 to 2 to regulate the sales of e-cigarette products. The ordinance would establish tobacco retail licensing and ban e-cigarette sales to minors.

Oregon Considers Measure To Limit E-Cigarette Access

Feb 10, 2014
Chris Lehman

Sometimes technology outpaces the government's ability to regulate it. That's what's happening with electronic cigarettes. Oregon lawmakers will consider a measure this month to restrict minors from buying e-cigarettes. The idea has broad, bipartisan support. But the details of the legislation are getting criticism from a surprising source.

A new Oregon law went into effect January 1st making it a crime to smoke cigarettes in a vehicle with minors. It is a secondary offense to smoke in the car with minors. This means law enforcement has to stop a driver for a separate violation first. Then police can write a ticket with a fine of $250 for smoking in the vehicle with children. The second time it happens, the fine is $500. Jason Davis with Lane County Health and Human Services says rolling down the window does not provide adequate ventilation.